• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Coffee Free

Morning! It’s a dreary day here in DC and colder than its been in a while. I have a busy day at work so won’t be able to get outside/take a break, so the weather makes that a little better. 🙂

I was talking to Emily this morning about the waffle situation from last night and I think I realized the problem. The box of mix I was using called for mix, oil, and water, but said you could omit the oil for a healthier version. The reason those waffle irons work well without spray is because there is oil in most waffle batters so that helps it to not stick when its done. So, since I didn’t use oil, I should have used spray on the iron… Makes sense but I didn’t even think about that until this morning. It makes me hopeful that my next attempt at waffles can be successful, because I really love them.

Breakfast was overnight oats today and this bowl was the best I’ve had in a while.

The secret? Mashed banana! It really makes overnight oats. This bowl had:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1/3 cup nonfat yogurt
  • 1 small mashed banana
  • Toppings: Chopped dates, sliced almonds, fiber one cereal

Mmm! I promise to start having slightly more exciting breakfasts soon. I just love how easy these are to bring to work and throw together the night before when I pack my lunch. I’m out of sliced almonds, so at the very least you should be seeing some new toppings in the next few days.

Also, side note, I am still everyday coffee-free! Last Monday, I sort of accidentally stopped drinking coffee, and didn’t have it all week. I had a coffee on Saturday because I was feeling pretty tired, but other than that, I haven’t had any coffee in a week and a half. I haven’t even had headaches or anything. This is a big change from the last time I accidentally went without coffee and had a slight freak out. (Read about it here)

I was planning on going out for a run after work but now that the weather’s like this, I don’t know. I’m feeling pretty much 100% right now body wise after my race on Sunday, which is awesome. I think the yoga last night really helped and I’m looking forward to doing that same routine again because it was really challenging, in a good way.

Happy Tuesday!!

Leave a Reply

