• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Stuffed Mini Sweet Peppers

I think I jinxed myself earlier about the caffeine because I’ve had a lingering headache since after work that’s just getting worse… ugh. It’s too late to have caffeine but hopefully it’ll go away while I’m writing this…

Unfortunately the rain didn’t stop after work and it was actually pretty chilly, so I decided not to do a run. I looked on ExerciseTV on Demand for a good workout. I started with a hip hop routine, but I could not keep up. I was laughing so hard while watching the instructor and the moves were just ridiculous to me. I’ve done some random dance workouts before which were great workouts, but this one was just silly. So I browsed for another video and found a Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown. It was a 30 minute workout and it was INTENSE. It puts my “hard” workout from yesterday to shame. But, I powered through it and was so happy when it was over. đŸ˜›

Pre-workout, I had a green monster. Check out this bag of fruit I got at Costco over the weekend:

It’s ingredient list is just the fruit in there with nothing added, which makes me happy. There’s strawberries, pineapple, honeydew melon, and peaches, and perfect for smoothies!

This Green Monster had:

  • 1 cup light silk soy milk
  • 1 banana
  • frozen strawberries and melon
  • 1 packet Amazing Grass
  • 2 handfuls of spinach

Yum! After I was done the workout, I got right to making dinner. I didn’t have a recipe, I just sort of went with the flow, and it turned out great! I had this bag of mini sweet peppers (from Costco)

So I decided to do Stuffed Mini Sweet Peppers. I started by washing off then cutting up the peppers. I made one slit down the side of the pepper, and then cut around the top where the stem was:

The stems pulled right out and there were minimal seeds, but I removed them all. Here’s the cleaned peppers:

Then I made the simple stuffing while preheating the oven to 350 degrees. Into the stuffing went:

  • 1 cup cooked brown rice
  • 1 cup MorningstarFarm Sausage style crumbles
  • 1 cup frozen cauliflower, thawed in microwave, then chopped in the food processor
  • red onion, browned in a pan
  • 1/2 cup panko crumbs

Then, I took the stuffing and put it in the peppers. I sprayed a 13×9 inch baking pan with nonstick spray, and placed the stuffed peppers in there:

Then I baked the peppers for 30 minutes. After 10 minutes, I added 3/4 a cup of white wine to the bottom of the pan to give it a little moisture. Once the 30 minutes were up, the peppers were done!

I also had a salad on the side with spinach, strawberries, apricots, shredded mozzarella, 1 tsbp ground flax with blueberries:

Such a great meal! The sausage style crumbles have so much flavor that I barely needed any seasoning in the mix. The peppers got a little soft but still retained a little of their crunch, and they were just awesome. I can’t remember the last time I had stuffed peppers. Yum!

I’ll leave you with this.. Check out the inside of my pack of gum:

Haha. That cracked me up when I read it.

Goodnight!

6 Responses

  1. Those stuffed peppers look aaaamazing! I have to convince my hubby to let me buy a big pack of them peppers – he’d love those things all cooked to perfection. & the big bag of natural frozen fruit = I hope it’s at the Costco I go to! That looks divine!

  2. Those look so delicious! I’ve only had stuffed peppers once. They were delicious but for some reason I never did them again….

  3. Those stuffed peppers look delish! Peppers are one of my favorite veggies.

  4. […] – Stuffed Mini Sweet Peppers […]

  5. I frequently get a bag of those peepers and some Taboule (also at Costco) and stuff the peppers with Taboule. Ready to eat and yum!

    Your recipe sounds great and will give it a try.

    In the spring, I planted some of the seeds from the Wilson’s peppers. They grew great and the first peppers are just now ready. They taste even better fresh picked.

    I found your site doing a Google image search for sweet peppers. Wanted a picture to label my seeds for next year.

    Keep blogging. Good stuff!

Leave a Reply

