• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Transformed Leftovers

Hi! Sorry for the late post, but I’ve been in meetings all afternoon. We have a conference coming up at work this weekend (!!!) so that’s why things have been so hectic lately. I’m actually staffing our pre-conference course as well, so I will be on site from Thursday through Monday. Conference times tend to be a really hard for me because of the long hours and being away from home. This conference is actually right near DC so I’ll only be staying at the hotel one night, but I have some plans for how to stick to my healthy eating regimen while working the conference, so stay tuned.

I had a really satisfying lunch today that kept me full for almost 4 hours. That never happens to me! As I’ve mentioned, I have a lot of random leftovers and groceries that don’t necessarily go together, so I’ve been trying to use them up. For lunch I took 1 cup of leftover orzo from Friday night’s dinner, which was made with red peppers shallots, a little olive oil, salt, and pepper. To the orzo, I added 1 can of chunk light tuna in water (drained), and the rest of the baby kale, chopped up.

I mixed it all up and ate it cold, like a tuna pasta salad. It was so good and seriously packed a punch. With the salad, I had some broccoli raw with some of the cilantro black bean dip, also from Friday night.

It was way tastier than it looks, I promise. đŸ˜‰ The dip just has black beans, nonfat yogurt, salsa, cilantro, and seasoning. Really flavorful and goes perfectly with veggies or crackers.

Fast-forward four hours, and it hit me that I hadn’t yet had my afternoon snack. I usually have it by 3 and am thinking about it by 2:30… but not today.

I had packed some popcorn kernels in a brown paper bag (if you haven’t yet tried this, you must!) and popped them in the microwave. I was craving sweet but also spicy, so I decided to eat the popcorn in two batches. First, I had some with cinnamon:

I was a little heavier handed with the cinnamon than I intended to be, so as I was eating parts of it I was breathing out cinnamon. It still tasted good, though. The next half I had doused in Tabasco sauce:

Apparently I didn’t learn my lesson the first time, because I was again a little heavy-handed with the Tabasco, so my mouth is still on fire, seriously. Tabasco sauce is wayyyy hotter than Frank’s Red Hot.

Back to work. I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

