• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Waffle Success

Morning! Happy Hump Day to ya. I woke up today with every intention of going for a run, but it was chilly so I decided to just make breakfast and watch the Today show instead… I am not a workout in the AM sort of gal. After work, it is.

I decided to change it up for breakfast today and give the waffle iron another shot. And I’m so happy I did because it worked and I haven’t had homemade waffles in ages (as in not frozen). I used this mix:

The recipe on the box called for 1 cup of mix, but the serving size is 1/4 of a cup, so I just halved the recipe. Into that bowl went 1/2 cup mix, 1/3 cup water, and 1 egg white. This made enough batter for 2 regular waffles with a little extra batter, but not enough for a third. Next time I’ll use 1/3 cup of mix and try to figure out the measurements for the other things. 😛 I used tons of nonstick spray on the waffle iron and the waffles came out no problem. After a few minutes, I had this:

Sooo good! I topped these two waffles with 1/2 cup nonfat greek yogurt, 1/2 large banana sliced, and some sliced strawberries. I also had a coffee today from the french press:

I added 1/2 cup frothed milk. I have a long day ahead of me because I have to go to the conference hotel tonight after work to make sure the shipment arrived and scope out the room for the course tomorrow, so this morning called for coffee. I’ll be staying at the hotel tonight so will be having dinner there tonight, and breakfast and lunch there tomorrow. I tend to have a pretty hard time with staying healthy during conferences, but I am hoping this time if I do a good job planning, I can stay on track.

I’ll be back after lunch – hope you have a great start to Wednesday!

6 Responses

  1. Looks great! I might have to invest in a waffle iron. Thanks!

  2. Love waffles for breakfast!

  3. Does the gluten free taste differently?

  4. Yum Beth!!!! Makes me want to have waffles pronto!

  5. What a yummy looking breakfast! =) Wish I had time during the week days to make such a great one, I only get time on Sunday’s if I am lucky.

Leave a Reply

