• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Hotel Breakfast

Morning! Sorry I’m so late in posting, but this morning was pretty hectic. I woke up at 6:00am (WAY early for me) and got ready quickly before coming downstairs to set up the course. Everything went smoothly and the course itself is going great. I mentioned last night that the roomservice menu at the Westin here is awesome but expensive, as is the case with any hotel.

“Our SuperFoods breakfast menu features revitalizing dishes made from healthy ingredients rich in nutrients, antioxidants, and delicious taste so you can start your day feeling recharged. SuperFoods: blueberries, pomegranate, soy, oats, cinnamon, tomatoes, yogurt, broccoli, nuts, oranges, apples, salmon, spinach, tea.” Its so freshing to see a hotel menu that focuses on healthy ingredients to power you through the day, rather than heavy dishes that end up making you feel more sluggish. I went with the Steelcut Cinnamon-Scented Oatmeal with sliced banana, pecans, and honey drizzle. Sounds good, right?

And it was! The only semi disappointing thing is they only gave 4 small banana rounds. I was hoping for a bit more, but what can you do. The pecans were candied and it came with two mini jars of honey, some brown sugar, milk, and butter (?) on the side as well. Do people put butter in their oats? I haven’t heard of that one. Here’s my bowl with all the fixings:

I used all four slices of banana, the candied pecans, and drizzled some honey of it. About half way through the bowl I also added the brown sugar for good measure. 🙂 Twas delicious and satisfying. I ate the oatmeal around 7:30am, and then around 11am I had an apple for a snack. The internet connection is really slow here so my apple picture wouldn’t upload, but I’m sure you can imagine it. I’m back to Fujis. Yum.

So I’ve mentioned on here a few times how I really struggle staying on track with healthy eating during conferences because of being away from home and the long hours. Some things I am trying to do differently this time are:

1.) CALL AHEAD – I called ahead to see if they had a refridgerator in the rooms, and they did. So, I brought some snacks with me, including the apple from this morning, some cut up bell peppers, some sliced kiwis, and a Chobani yogurt. If they don’t have  a fridge, still plan to bring non perishables, like 100 calorie packs of nuts, apples, energy bars, or anything else you like. It’s always better to have a snack to hold yourself over if there’s no healthy options available.

2.) EXPLORE – Figure out what is around the hotel where you’re staying at. I looked up the hotel menu before getting here so knew there was some healthy options, and also figured out that there is a Whole Foods within walking distances and a few other places with healthy options. I’m going to go to Whole Foods for lunch, which will also get me a walk in.

3.) STAY HYDRATED – Sometimes its really hard to remember to drink water, but bring a bottle with you and keep drinking! It’s so important for energy levels and just in general to stay hydrated, especially during conference time. This time I brought a water bottle with me and have been carrying it everywhere and refilling.

4.) EXERCISE – Fit it wherever you can. Sometimes if the hours are long its really hard, but it’s important to embrace that something is better than nothing, which I struggle with. Even if I can only run for 20 minutes, its much better for me to get up and do that, rather than skip the gym all together. I’m planning on using the gym after the course is over today.

5.) SLEEP – There’s enough difficulty in staying on track while traveling for work without adding crankiness into the mix. For me, when I don’t get enough sleep, I tend to feel sorry for myself and be a lot more lenient with food choices. While its more difficult with the long hours, do your best to keep your sleep schedule as close to normal as possible.

Any other tips you think work well for traveling for work or during conferences?

I’ll be back!

One Response

  1. I do the exact same things you do! I love to research what is located within walking distance of my hotel. Plus I always like to check out the hotel gym 🙂 And I like to count all the walking I do finding food as part of my exercise too!

    Have fun at your conference!!

Leave a Reply

