• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Killer Intervals

Hi! Just wanted to do a quick update because I’m on my way out the door to a potluck and probably won’t update after I get home. I am exhausted and have another super early day tomorrow. We should be wrapping up with the course around 3 or 3:30pm tomorrow though, so that’s definitely something to look forward to.

For the afternoon break at the course, they served assorted cookies that looked delicious:

I couldn’t decide whether I wanted to have one or not since I had already packed a snack, and by the time I came back to the cookies, this is what was left:

I had to laugh, but I guess a cookie just wasn’t meant to be for me. I did have an awesome snack, though. I tried another flavor that I was sent by Chobani:

Raspberry. I had brought the yogurt with me, along with a Weetabix biscuit and some sliced kiwi.

This was one crushed biscuit and two full kiwis sliced. And this was heavenly. A lot of times I don’t care for raspberry flavoring because it tastes a little strange, but this tasted like real raspberries crushed at the bottom of the yogurt. It was so thick and the kiwis went perfect with the raspberry, and the weetabix biscuit gave it a little crunch. So, so good! It was perfect pre-workout fuel, because about an hour after that I used the hotel gym.

I didn’t want to run too far, so I decided to do some intervals. I did 20 minutes, with 2 minutes slower, 2 minutes sprinting, and back and forth for 20 minutes. For the jogging I started at 6.0mph, and then 7.0 for the sprinting, but when I upped the sprinting to 7.5 mph, I downed the jogging to 5.5mph. It was so hard. I seriously was counting down the seconds for the sprint to be over and was sweating like crazy. Even though it was only 20 minutes I felt like I got an incredible workout, best one in a while. I walked for 5 minutes after that at 4.3 mph, and then spotted a stairmaster. When I joined a gym a few years back, I used to love the stairmaster because it kicked my butt and I was literally dripping sweat on it. Now that I don’t have one, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to use it. I did 12 minutes at Level 9 and it was hard. I felt so good when I was done using the gym even though it wasn’t too long because it was super intense.

I came home and showered quickly, and then got together the ingredients for Caitlin’s Sweet Potato Balls. The recipe is on her recipe page under lunch and dinners, and I decided to quadruple it since I was making these to share. I used 2 whole medium sweet potatoes, 1 cup of black beans, and 1/2 cup salsa. I cooked the sweet potatoes in the microwave on the potato setting, and drained, rinsed, and patted dry the beans. I mashed the black beans and the sweet potatoes together, and then stirred in the salsa. The mix looked like this when I was done:

Then came the fun part. Rolling it into balls, and then dipping them in ground flax seed. Here are three of them ready to be rolled in the flax:

And here they are ready to be baked:

I’m bringing these over to my friends house like this and plan to bake them there. I hope they transport well! Have a good night and be back tomorrow!

4 Responses

  1. You were saved from the cookies! 🙂 Man, intervals are hard. They are definitely something I only do when I am prepared to be limping for several days after.

    • Ahh I don’t want to be limping! I’ve never really done them before like tonight with two mins sprinting and two mins jogging. Eek!

  2. Yummy! your posts make me very hungry…

  3. Those sweet potato balls look so good. What a great idea. I will definitely be adding this to my list of recipes to try…my list is getting long:)

Leave a Reply

