• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Potluck Recap and Perfect Oatmeal

Morning! It’s so weird to me that it’s Friday because it does not feel like it! That probably has something to do with the fact that I have to work both Saturday and Sunday because of the conference… Tomorrow 1:45 – 9ish, then Sunday 10-1 or 2, so not so bad.

Last night’s Potluck Dinner was really fun! We all agreed next time we’ll have to do a better job planning because the meal wasn’t too balanced, but everything was delicious. The Sweet Potato Balls turned out well!

They were hot and crispy after I baked them for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees. I think I might tweak the recipe a bit next time and add some more seasoning, but they had a really good texture. I had rolled them in flax, and to make them a bit crunchier, I might do half flax, half panko next time I try them. I served them with yellow mustard as a dipping sauce and they went pretty quick!

The main course was linguini with homemade sauce. I haven’t had homemade sauce in so long and it was delicious! I watched Steph make it, and it was so simple, so I’m not sure why I don’t do it more.

The bowl was a lot bigger than it appears, and we devoured it all. Steph sauteed some mushrooms and onions to put on top of the pasta, along with torn basil and fresh grated parmesan. So, so good. I had a hefty serving.

Kat made a Couscous Salad that had onions, feta, peas, dried blueberries, raisins, and cranberries.

It was really tasty on its own, and some people added soy sauce as a condiment but I just ate it as is. I never think to put dried fruit in my couscous salad and it worked so well so I would definitely make something similar to this again. Also, you can never go wrong with cheese, so the feta in there was great.

There was also Lianne’s spinach dip which sadly, I forgot to snap a picture of. It was soooo good and we ate it straight out of the oven. I was so excited to try it because she made it for a party last weekend that I missed because my parents were in town, and there were rave reviews. I ate it way too quickly after it came out of the oven though and burnt my mouth! It’s still burnt, which is making drinking coffee this morning a little challenging. 🙂 She brought some Amy’s pita chips over that went perfect with the dip.

For dessert, Jess made a pie with fresh fruit and vanilla pudding mixed with cool whip.

Mmm. She also brought some ice cream to eat with it and I ate some of that, too. We also had plenty of wine and I had two glasses of red.

So as you can see, everything in itself was awesome, but we were lacking a little bit in the veggie/salad department and not at all in the carb department. (Unless you count the artichokes and spinach in the dip?!) The biggest problem was that everything was too good so I ate too much and left feeling overly stuffed and a little sick to my stomach. I had a 10-15 minute walk to the metro though, which helped me feel a little bit better. The potluck was so fun though and I can’t wait to do one again.

This morning was another very early morning, so I decided to stop at Starbucks to try their “Perfect Oatmeal” because though the oatmeal yesterday from the hotel was good, it was $15 with delivery, service charge, etc. Crazy! It was good, but not $15 good. 🙂 I was pretty impressed by Starbucks oatmeal. It was instant, which I rarely if ever have, but in a pinch, I would definitely get it again.

They give you brown sugar, dried fruit, and almonds and walnuts for toppings. There are calorie counts on everything, 50 for the brown sugar and 100 for the dried fruit and nuts. I used it all.

It was actually really good, especially for instant! I think the toppings really made it, and I’m still feeling pretty full. I loved that there were a lot of different things going on in the oatmeal, so each bite was a little different.

I also got a banana at Starbucks, but haven’t eaten it yet.

The oatmeal and banana together were only $3.65 with tax! I’m excited about this because there’s a Starbucks close to my office and while homemade is definitely cheaper, its good to know there’s a quick, cheap and healthy breakfast option if I’m running late.

On a side note, though yesterdays intervals were killer, I am feeling really good today! I’m not sore at all, even though death felt pretty imminent towards the end of those 2 minute sprint intervals. 😉

Happy Friday!

5 Responses

  1. Yummmm!! Where can I find the sweet potato ball recipe? They look so good!

    Dont’ you just love the healthy options starbucks now has? Love it!!

    XXOO

    • YES IT MAKES ME SO SO HAPPY! 🙂 I love that places are starting to care about nutrition and offering healthy options.

      The recipe is from Caitlin over at Healthy Tipping Point. (www.healthytippingpoint.com) On her lunch/dinner recipe page towards the bottom. I did a play by play last night with pics so you can see the process. I’d recommend adding some seasoning, like salt and pepper, or cinnamon and cayenne.

  2. nice blog, i haven’t had a starbucks in ages! xx

  3. Potluck food looks pretty tasty! And yes-Feta is the best! 🙂

  4. You girls make carbs look mighty tasty…I wish I was there!!

Leave a Reply

