• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Wrapped Up

Today has been kind of a weird day. I was so exhausted after I got out of the course around 3:30 so I decided to come home and nap. I rarely nap in the middle of the day because I’m always working (obviously) and then when I get out of work its usually too late to nap. It always throws me so off because I wake up and can’t tell what time of day it is and just feel lazy afterwards. I definitely need it though because I’ve only slept around 6 hours the last two nights, and I almost always get at least 8 normally.

I was thinking about going back to Whole Foods for lunch today because it was such a treat yesterday, but we had less time for our break today so I decided to stay a little closer to the hotel. I took the two course instructors to a little sandwich shop right on the corner, and we got food and sat outside to eat it. I was starving by lunch time, and did end up eating that banana shortly after my last post, so unfortunately that oatmeal didn’t hold me over as much as my normal oats. I think the toppings were good but I needed to add a bit more fruit and/or protein to it.

The weather was incredible so it was really nice to get some time outside. The vegetarian options were pretty limited on the menu, but I spotted a Veggie Wrap, and had them to hold the honey mustard, add tons of veggies, and got it with mozzarella cheese for some protein.

The wrap was actually really, really good! I was a little worried it might not be that great, but the veggies were really crunchy and fresh, and the mozz was perfect in the wrap. They put in lettuce, tomato, cucumbers, sprouts, roasted red peppers, avocado and the cheese. I also got a bag of popcorn for us to share, but we only got through about half this bag (which had 3.5 servings).

The popcorn was really lightly seasoned with salt so it was tasty and crunchy. The cookies from yesterday made an appearance again today, and this time I had one. It was a chocolate cookie with caramel crunch through it and I ate it too quick to snap a picture, but oh man it was good. These cookies are going to be around me for the next several days so I have to be careful… But the course is all done now, so now we move into the conference itself.

After I came home I passed out for a good 2 hours and then I woke up pretty hungry. For some reason, I never like to buy any yogurt other than nonfat, but in the samples that Chobani sent me, there were two containers of the Pineapple 2%. They actually have the same number of Weight Watchers points as the other Chobani nonfat flavors, so I’m not sure why I shy away so much. The stats are 160 calories, 2.5grams of fat, 0 fiber, 13grams of protein.

I ended up mixing in some chopped kiwi and a crushed Weetabix biscuit, and even though I had this almost 3 hours ago, I’m still feeling pretty full from it. There were pineapple chunks in the bottom of the yogurt and they were almost crunchy and so good. I really like this flavor. And pineapple and kiwi went together SO well. I think that should be made into a new flavor combo. They always have Strawberry Kiwi and Raspberry Kiwi flavors, but pineapple kiwi really works! I loved this yogurt and think I need to get over my fear of low-fat yogurt instead of nonfat. I seriously don’t know why I have this complex about it!

Now I am starting to think about eating again but today has been so off. I have to go to the hotel tomorrow from 1:45p – 9p or so, and I’m planning to go check out a market tomorrow in Courthouse, VA. Tomorrow is the first day of the Farmer’s Market, and there’s also a bike vendor who comes with used bikes. The bikes are tuned with new tires and ready to ride, and I’ve been really wanting to buy one since my ride with my dad over Easter weekend. Keep your fingers crossed that I find a good one!

3 Responses

  1. Have you ever tried the Trader Joe’s White Cheddar Popcorn? It’s like crack. It’s so much better than the Smartfood version. 🙂

  2. That wrap looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

