• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Violet

Hey! Happy Sunday night! Blah. It’s hard to believe tomorrow is Monday because I’ve worked both days this weekend, so it doesn’t feel like I’ve had a weekend at all. I do get to take my time going into work tomorrow, which is something to look forward to. I have to head back to the conference hotel in the afternoon tomorrow and stay for a few events into early evening, so sleeping in a bit will be pretty awesome. 🙂

After I posted, I ran to Whole Foods to get a few things. For some reason, I am always so intimidated by the bulk bins, but you can really find some cool stuff in there and get it for cheaper than buying the pre-packed bags. I got some toppings for my oatmeal/yogurt this week that I’m looking forward to trying. I also picked up ingredients for tonights dinner, which was delicious. It’s really easy to go over board at Whole Foods, but if you pay close attention to sales and really watch what you’re buying, you can do ok. I got a bunch of stuff tonight and only spent about $30.

After I got home from WF, I decided to try out my new bike, which has now been named Violet. I did a 40 minute ride and covered about 8 miles. I went on the Mount Vernon Trail and am still getting a little used to the bike, but really loved the ride. I definitely need to get some padded bike shorts and/or a gel seat… I’ll leave it at that. 😉 But I was beaming when I came home from the ride… I’m so excited I own a bike!

There I am happy as a clam after the ride. While I was out riding, my boyfriend made us dinner with the supplies from Whole Foods. Sometimes it’s very nice to have a chef for a boyfriend…

Shrimp Tacos! In the spread:

  • Kiwi Salsa (kiwis, red onions, apple cider vinegar, garlic, cumin, chili powder, lime juice, agave nectar – all blended together)
  • Lime Slices
  • Chopped Tomato
  • RF Mozzarella
  • White Rice
  • Store bought Pico De Gallo
  • Greek Yogurt w/Lemon Juice (instead of Sour Cream)
  • Shrimp sauteed in olive oil, hot paprika, and lime juice
  • Corn Tortillas

Here’s my (first) plate:

I had two shrimp tacos with lettuce, rice, chopped tomatoes, 2 shrimp each, greek yogurt, and kiwi salsa. I also assembled a side salad with 2 more shrimp, pico de gallo, and more greek yogurt. It was SO good, so I went back for more.

Lettuce, Rice, Pico De Gallo, Kiwi Salsa, Greek Yogurt, and 1 more shrimp. Mmmm so good! Adding a splash of lemon juice to greek yogurt seriously makes the perfect replacement for sour cream. I also had a glass (or two) of Moscato D’Asti:

We toasted to Violet! 🙂

I’m off to relax. Goodnight!

3 Responses

  1. You’re so beautiful!

    That is my kind of dinner, looks really yummy. I am sure it’s nice quite often to have a chef for a boyfriend. My Husband can make a mean grilled cheese and that’s about it.

  2. Oooo I love whole foods!! A 40 min bike ride? Girl, I am jealous! I wish I loved cardio activities more 😦

    I love your pic!!!

    XXOO

  3. Shrimp tacos are the best!

Leave a Reply

