• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Black Beans + Kiwi Salsa = Love

Hey! Just a quick post because I’m heading to the hotel shortly and things have been hectic here at the office! Those pancakes from this morning held me over for a good 3.5 hours, but I was really looking forward to diving into my lunch.

Last night, we had an incredible Shrimp Taco Spread, and though we ate all the shrimp, there were leftovers of all the fixings. I had 1/2 cup of canned black beans (extras from the can I used for the Sweet Potato Balls from the other night) to use as protein instead of the shrimp.

Into the container with the black beans, I put:

  • leftover white rice (~1/2 cup)
  • chopped tomatoes
  • pico de gallo

I also brought the extra romaine, the leftover greek yogurt with lemon, as well as 2 corn tortillas to have on the side. It made a monster of a salad that was so delicious and had a total different feel from last night’s dinner even though I reused so many of the ingredients.

I also put some of the Kiwi Salsa on top of the salad for good measure.

And toasted the corn tortillas on the side.

I only toasted them for a minute and they got so crispy! I was able to break them up into chips and used them to eat the salad. I brought the greek yogurt in ziplock and just cut off the corner of the bag to spread it over the salad. It worked so well because I was able to get the yogurt all over so it was even throughout. This lunch was so delicious and filling. The worst part was when it was over. 🙂

Now I’m heading back to the conference hotel for the afternoon/early evening. Be back tonight.

Have a good day!

One Response

  1. I’ve never heard of Kiwi salsa…Sounds strange but delightful!

Leave a Reply

