• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Experiments

Hiya! Good news (for me) is that the Breakfast Cookie kept me full for over 3 hours! 🙂 I’m so excited about that because now it can be a new staple breakfast for me and its so fun to think of different mix-in combos. I’ve always been a little scared of powders of any sort and today was the first day I’ve ever tried any (besides if they put it in a smoothie that I ordered). I think it really makes a difference in making the meal stick to your ribs. 1/2 a scoop of the kind I bought only has 40 calories, but has 8 grams of protein. I think I’ll start adding some to my Green Monsters and possibly to my oatmeal… we’ll see!

One more change I want to make to my diet is that I tend to eat a lot of snacks in the afternoon which I’m sure you’ve noticed if you’ve been reading my blog for a while. I typically have breakfast around 9, lunch around 12:30/1, then 2 or so light snacks around 3 or 4, and then another snack when I get home. I love snacking obviously, but I decided I’m going to try to change it up a bit. My goal is to have a bit more of a substantial snack in the afternoon around 3 or 4 and see if that tides me over so that I don’t have a snack as soon as I get home, too. Today I brought a yogurt with fruit and a weetabix biscuit for an afternoon snack which should pack more of a punch that my normal snacks do, so this will be one experiment for today.

Lunch was awesome today! The star was my very last MorningStar Farms Turk’y Griller. These are definitely my favorite veggie burgers of the ones I’ve tried so far.

I had it on a thomas bagel thin with a wedge of laughing cow cheese, spinach, and red onions. I had the red onions raw but sliced them a little thick to eat raw, so I decided to experiment yet again and put them in the microwave. I added a little bit of water to the bottom of the plate and then put them in the microwave for about a minute. They got soft and tasted sweet like they were sauteed. Definitely a trick I’ll use again!

On the side, I had baby carrots:

Some pickles:

And a little tomato:

I was originally going to slice up the tomato to put on my sandwich, but decided it wasn’t necessary so I just ate it like an apple.

Mmm! I’ll be back tonight and let you know how my larger-snack-in-the-afternoon-experiment goes.

Happy Tuesday!

5 Responses

  1. Looks like a great lunch and very similar to what I usually have!

  2. That lunch looks really good. Is it on a regular bagel or a bagel thin?

  3. I just wrote a post about my snacking habbits that will go up after work tonight – I snack a lot. I like what you brought for your afternoon snack – but I would likely spread that out and eat all of those things, just not at once but throughout the afternoon post lunch. Will be interested to see how you feel eatting a bigger snack makes you feel!

    • That is what I usually do – have an apple, then some popcorn, then a yogurt… and then I’m hungry right when I get home. I’m wondering if I have it all together if it’ll make a difference. I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

