• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Those Are Not Marshmallows on My Salad

Work is insane, so I’m going to make this quick so I can get back to it! The protein powder made a big difference in the full-factor from this morning’s Overnight Oats. Usually I’m hungry again around 11:30 and wait until at least 12 for lunch or have a snack to hold me over, but today I looked at the clock and it was 1pm and I was just getting hungry! I know this seems silly, but I never thought protein powder would “work” for me. I like to eat (obviously) and I just assumed adding the powder wouldn’t really make a difference and I’d be hungry again just as quickly. I’m glad to know I was wrong and that I’m not immune to protein powder like I thought. 🙂

Lunch today was delicious and such a breeze to throw together. Today was a big salad with delicious toppings and lots of sides to go with it.

This bowl had:

  • Baby Spinach
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas (canned)
  • mini mozzarella cheese balls
  • 1 roasted red pepper, sliced

The best part about this salad was the toppings outnumbered the greens, so as I got closer to the bottom of the salad there was still a bunch of chickpeas, mozz, and roasted peppers, but not much spinach.

With the salad, I had some baby carrots

And an overly toasted Bagel Thin, 2 small tomatoes eaten apple style like yesterday, and 3 pickles.

Together it was a delicious, satisfying lunch!

And quite colorful. 🙂 I have another flavor of Siggi’s to try with Weetabix and two kiwis for an afternoon snack. I’m excited to try the other flavor of Siggi’s – Orange and Ginger! And, I am finally down to 1 kiwi remaining from the huge container I bought at Costco the weekend before last. It’s a good thing, too, because some of them are starting to get a little on the soft side.

What are some of your favorite things to stock up on at Costco or other wholesale stores? Of all the purchases I made there, I’d have to say that the 6 pound bag of frozen fruit is probably my favorite. It’s holding up so well and there are peaches, pineapple, honeydew melon, and strawberries in it. It makes for a great snack if I want something sweet to munch on, and is great for smoothies, too! I also am loving the huge container of almond butter and Fage 0% that I got from there.

I’ll be back!

11 Responses

  1. That salad looks yummy! When I first saw it, I thought the photo, I thought the mozzarella balls were mini marshmallows (which, while also yummy, would be really strange to have on a salad!).

    • Funny you should say that… last night when I was putting it together I asked my boyfriend if he wanted a snack and he said SURE. So I brought out a few of those and he said what are they, marshmallows? I said yep and then put it in his mouth and he got grossed out that it was cheese and not the marshmallows he was expecting… After he got over the shock though, he asked for more. 🙂

  2. Bah… bad editing. That’s supposed to say “When I first saw the photo, I thought the mozzarella balls… “

  3. We go to Sam’s Club. I just checked for Fage and they don’t carry it. I got a huge container of grapes, orange and yellow bell peppers which I slice up and eat with hummus, cucumbers and avocados.

    I’d get apples but I’ve got braces on and it’s a little hard to eat them, even when they’re cut up.

    The salad looks delicious and I too thought they looked like mini marshmallows. Now I am kind of craving some ambrosia salad! 🙂

  4. OMG That looks good. I need you to come prepare my meals 😉

  5. What a great looking salad! What kind of dressing did you use? Fresh Mozzarella is fantastic.

    • I actually don’t use dressing on my salads… I try to get enough “wet” ingredients that I don’t need it. If I use anything its usually salsa! I see that you use Goddess Dressing a lot and I haven’t had that in AGES but i should pick some up!

  6. They do look like marshmallows!

    We don’t have Costco here we have BJs but is never as good as Costco.

  7. What kind of protein powder did you get? I would love to find a good one to try.

Leave a Reply

