• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

ONO’s are Back!

Morning! Today is so gloomy and rainy in DC.. I hate it! I’m ready for full out springtime with warm weather and sun. I doubt that makes me unique, but still. 😉 I got a really good nights sleep last night so I am feeling pretty refreshed today despite the weather. I feel asleep by 11 and slept until 8 (oops!) so clocked in just over 9 hours.

I realized that yesterday I didn’t have any coffee, tea, or caffeine of any sort, so that might have been why I was dragging towards the end of the day. That said, I’m pretty happy with my current relationship with caffeine. I was a little freaked out a little over a month ago because I accidentally went without coffee for a few days and started getting some killer headaches (see post here) and then tried to ween myself off of coffee for a while. I’m not opposed to drinking coffee by any means, I’d just prefer to be able to have it when I want it or need a pick-me-up, and not depend on it like I was a few months ago. By weening myself down from XL to Mediums over the course of a few weeks, I feel like I’ve finally gotten to the point where I don’t need it, but still like it, and only have it when I want it. It’s a good feeling!

Breakfast this morning was Overnight Oats… I’ve really missed them! Today I added 1/2 a scoop of protein powder to the mix on top of the usual ingredients, so let’s see if it holds me over for longer. I couldn’t really taste the protein powder, so I’ll definitely use it for the for the fullness factor only and not the flavor.

This bowl of Overnight Oats had:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup nonfat greek yogurt
  • Splash of light soy milk
  • 1 small mashed banana
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder
  • Toppings: Dried Cherries and Sliced Almonds

This bowl was soooo good. I just love the texture of these oats.

The dried cherries from the bulk bins at Whole Foods are so delicious. They’re pretty plump for dried fruit but have no added sugars. Dried cherries can be so expensive, but if you buy them in the bulk bins you pay by weight. I got about a cup of them for around $3, which is pretty reasonable if you ask me. 🙂

Back to work I go! Happy Hump Day!

2 Responses

  1. I really need to give overnight oats a try, I keep forgetting about them! Thanks for the note on the dried cherries – I will check those out. I love my local grocer, but their bulk food is actually more expensive than the packaged food, so odd. It is nice when I can make my way to Whole Foods.

Leave a Reply

