• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Sweet Potato Ravioli

Hiya! I’m sitting here catching up on The Biggest Loser from last night… Do any of you guys watch this show? I have watched a handful of the seasons of the show and feel like I get sucked in once I start watching it. I like the whole concept of promoting exercise and healthy eating to change your life, but I think the expectations that are set are just so unrealistic. The contestants start crying if they only have a 2-3 pound loss, which for a normal person, is a great loss for one week! You’re only supposed to lost .5-2.0 pounds a week for a healthy weight loss, so for them to be brought to tears for exceeding this rate just blows my mind. That said, I think its pretty incredible to watch the contestants transform over the course of the show. A lot of these contestants are so huge that they could easily turn to gastric bypass or another drastic measure, so the fact that they do it with exercise and healthy eating is pretty damn impressive. So I guess I’m 50-50. I also think the promotions for the products are just over the top. It’s VERY easy to tell who the sponsors are, and sometimes its just way too in your face with Extra Gum and Ziplock bags (both of which I like, but come on).

Anyways, afternoon snack was the other flavor of Siggy’s, Orange Ginger.

I put it in a bowl and topped it with a sliced kiwi, 2 strawberries a coworker gave me, and a crumbled Weetabix Biscuit.

I really wanted to like it, but this flavor was just not for me. I can’t describe it exactly, but I really didn’t like it. I did eat the whole bowl but the toppings were much more my thing. 😦 I still think you should try it if you want to because it’s Tina’s favorite flavor, so I think it’s just a preference thing. Having the bigger snack did do the trick though – it carried me through several hours without feeling hungry and without a second snack.

After I got home from work, I was planning on going for a bike ride because my new bike shorts arrived today, but the rain made me decide to postpone. I ended up doing 2 yoga workouts – first Shiva Rea Yoga for Beginners which was a 20 minute flow sequence. After that, I did the same one from yesterday – Less is More Yoga. So that totaled 40 minutes all together and I felt really good during and after. The thing I love about yoga is that I’m focusing so much on the moves, that I barely notice how hard I’m working and then I realize I’m sweating. I still like to do a lot of cardio but I’m glad I’ve made yoga and flexibility training a pretty regular part of my workout.

I snacked on some frozen fruit while I was making dinner:

x2. I actually really like eating the fruit frozen. I used to eat frozen grapes a lot when I first started doing Weight Watchers because they tasted like sherbet and don’t get fully frozen through. This fruit gets a bit more frozen, but as your eating one piece the rest defrosts a tiny bit, and I think it’s delicious. It makes me slow down majorly because its frozen, and completely satisfies my sweet tooth.

Then came the main event… Sweet Potato Ravioli! They were so delicious and tasted like gourmet cooking, but were so easy to make. I used Nasoya Wonton Wrappers for the pasta:

And for the filling, I microwaved a sweet potato, peeled off the skin, and mashed it with a fork. To the sweet potato, I added a generous tablespoon of brown sugar and some pumpkin pie spice.

I mixed that together and that was it! Then I took about a teaspoon sized amount of the sweet potato filling and put it in the middle of a wonton wrapper:

Then I dipped my finger in water and rubbed it around two sides of the wonton wrapper, and then folded it over and the water helped seal the sides together.

I did this for 16 wontons (8 for dinner tonight, and 8 for lunch tomorrow) and for some of them I pulled the two edges together so that they looked like the wontons in soup. Here they are all ready to cook:

Then I boiled them for 5 minutes. You know they’re done when they start floating at the top of the pot of water.

For the sauce, I did a really random cream sauce with Greek Yogurt. I chopped up some shallots and parsley:

I heated 1 tbsp olive oil and then added the shallots. I put in about 1/3 cup of greek yogurt, some lemon juice, a little splash of soy milk for some liquid, and the chopped parsley. Then I added some salt and pepper, and some fresh shaved parmesan.

These ravioli were SO DELICIOUS! Seriously, best thing I’ve made in a long time. Using the wonton wrappers is so easy, and they are pretty low cal. 8 of them have 160 calories and .5 grams of fat, so not bad! The cream sauce was good too, but I don’t know that these two were really meant to be a pair. I think I’d make the cream sauce again and the ravioli again, but just not together. The ravioli had a sweet flavor and thinking about them now is seriously making my mouth water.

I’m off to relax and watch the rest of the Biggest Loser. Have a good night!!

20 Responses

  1. I’ve never made my own ravioli before! It looks so easy! Thanks for posting this. 🙂

  2. Yummy! When something tastes as good as those look..I don’t think I could have saved any for lunch! Yummy!

  3. I didn’t like the Siggi’s the first time I had it. But I gave it a second try with a different flavor. I love the vanilla it’s flavored with vanilla bean and I also like the blueberry.

  4. the ravioli looks so good!

    what other kind of sauce would you pair with it?

  5. That ravioli looks amazing! 🙂 I will have to try making my own with wonton wrappers…never thought of it..but ohhh the endless possibilities! 🙂

  6. The ravioli looks delicious!

    I like Biggest Loser too, it’s really awesome and inspiring but like you I feel like it’s so unrealistic and it can be discouraging for someone who is trying to lose weight and is not having those type of results.

  7. Wow the ravioli looked amazing and so simple! Thanks for posting it.

    I too like the Biggest Loser and get sucked in every week. I think the same thing. They are unhappy with a 4 pound loss. I’d be thrilled with a 2 pound loss. I do like to see the transformations as they are inspiring!

  8. What a great idea for the wonton wrappers!!! I just threw some out as they were way past the expiration date but this would have been such a good use. I’ll have to buy some more.

  9. Looks DELISH!

    I am with you on BL – I actually have never watched an entire season or even more than an episode here and there, but it bothers me that the expectations are so high. It seems like most people on the show stick with the new lifestyle, but I hate that they get upset over a 2 pound loss. And in “real life” who has the chance to work out 6 hours a day?! Happy for those people, but it’s not a show I dig.

  10. That looks delicious although you had me at the post’s title regardless haha. Can’t believe how easy it looks too!

  11. I can’t wait to try this ravioli recipe! Looks absolutely delicious – and doesn’t look like it could be any easier to make. Only one question – since you didn’t like the sauce you made with the sweet potato, what would you recommend in its place?! (I’ll definitely be trying the sauce someday too!)

    • I’ve been searching for a sauce but most of what I’ve come across is Brown Butter Sauce which isn’t the healthiest option. I’ll keep looking!

  12. omg Beth those look awesome. Can’t wait to try them!!

  13. Where can one buy the wanton wraps?

    • They’re usually in the refrigerated section near the tofu/meat substitutes at your local grocery store. Pretty much every one around me carries them – you don’t need to go to a specialty store or anything. If you grocery doesn’t carry them, then Asian markets do as well.

  14. […] – Sweet Potato Ravioli […]

  15. Kale or baby kale, lightly sauteed in white wine or veggie broth, would work well on top of the ravis, I do believe. It would ad some texture and earthy goodness.

  16. […] and the sauce went really well with the sweet potato. This would be a great sauce to make with the Sweet Potato Ravioli. The gnocchi were a little heavier than ideal because of the whole wheat flour. Most recipes called […]

  17. […] Finally, for dinner, I made some pumpkin ravioli!  I wanted to make something savory with my leftover canned pumpkin.  I was inspired by Tina’s Pumpkin Wontons and Beth’s Sweet Potato Ravioli. […]

Leave a Reply

