• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Breakfast Cookie: Take Two

Happy Earth Day! Today marks the day where we’re supposed to take a step back and think about our home, the Earth, and what we can do to make it a better place to live for ourselves and for the future. There are so many little things you can do that will can make a huge difference over time. I was never the most environmentally conscious person growing up, but as I’ve gotten older I’ve tried to make a lot of changes to reduce my carbon footprint. What are some of the things that you do or changes you’ve made to be more green?

For me:

  • I use public transportation to get to and from work every day. I used to drive frequently. Not to mention, the metro is way cheaper than parking in DC.
  • I use Tupperware as much as I can to bring in my breakfast/lunch instead of disposable bags like ziplocks. If I use ziplock bags, I reuse them so I’m making less trash.
  • I recycle everything that I can.
  • I have a reusable water bottle that I keep on my desk and drink from everyday rather than buying disposable plastic bottles.
  • I have switched fully to receiving my bills by email and online instead of in the mail.
  • I use a lunchbox or reusable totebag to bring lunch in every day instead of a plastic bag like I used to.
  • I gave up red and white meat, and now only eat fish.

If you’re looking for some ideas on things you can do to make a difference, click here.

Last night I was packing my lunch for today and decided to give the Breakfast Cookie another go. Whenever I bring a Breakfast Cookie in, I have to bring in the plate I make it on, too, which won’t fit in my regular lunchbox. So, I bring in this bag with my breakfast, lunch, and snacks:

It’s hard to gauge its size from the picture I realize, but this is a medium sized one, not a full sized one that you’d bring for a grocery shopping trip. Because this bag doesn’t close, it makes it difficult to hold off from eating the Breakfast Cookie until I get to work because it peeks out of the bag the whole ride to work!

Needless to say, I wasted no time diving into this Breakfast Cookie once I got to my desk. Presenting… the Chocolate Banana Breakfast Cookie.

This Banana Chocolate Breakfast Cookie has:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 2 tbsp light soy milk
  • 1 small mashed banana
  • dark chocolate chunks

The breakfast cookie was good, but I think I used too much banana! It was a little “wetter” than I wanted, so next time I’d use half a banana instead of a whole one. Flavor-wise, it was really good and I loved eating it, but the Chocolate Cherry Breakfast Cookie I made earlier this week had more of a cookie like consistency. This had more of an overnight oats consistency, which wasn’t exactly what I was going for.

I think because its Earth Day, the weather decided to get nice to make me appreciate it more. It’s going to be sunny and in the 70s this afternoon, so I am really hoping the weather holds so I can go on a long bike ride after work! My new bike shorts arrived in the mail yesterday. The person who wrote a review gave them only 2 stars but said they were too big and the padding was too thick… I tried mine on yesterday and they are perfect! The padding is not that thick and honestly I was expecting it thicker from her description. I’m going to write a review on there after I try them out and hopefully it’ll be closer to 5 stars.

Have a good day!

2 Responses

  1. I am very similar to you!
    i walk to work
    i recycle bags
    i use tupperware

    have a great day!

  2. There is NO SUCH THING as too much padding in bike shorts! 😉

Leave a Reply

