• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Duckling at the Farmer’s Market?

Hi! Despite the rough mid-morning, today has shaped up to be a pretty good day. My workday flew by and I was able to leave a little after 5 to head to the Farmer’s Market in Penn Quarter. More and more vendors are there each week which is a great thing! Here’s are a few pictures from the market.

Not sure about where the duckling came from, but isn’t he cute!?

Here’s what I walked away with:

Arugula, Baby Kale, Radishes, and 2 Tomatoes. I spent about $15 in total which seems like a lot to me, but its good to support your local farmers!

After getting home, I decided to go for a bike ride because the weather was gorgeous! I went out for an hour and did about 12 miles. My Garmin says I burned 682 calories in the hour. The path I went on was pretty hilly, and going up the hills was HARD. I don’t even know if I was really doing the gears right… I am such a novice when it comes to biking. I really think I need to do some research or get a lesson. I know Caitlin has a really helpful page on Tips for Biking, so I’ll have to look at that and go from there.

After coming home, I was starving because I hadn’t eaten since those Swedish Fish. I decided to pull out my juicer because I haven’t used it in a while and I had some produce on the way out in my fridge.

This juice had 2 carrots, 1 kiwi, 1/2 a grapefruit, and some celery. It was really good! Just what I was craving and I was glad I didn’t let the produce go to waste. I drank the juice while I whipped up a quick but delicious dinner.

I started by boiling some buckwheat soba noodles for 6 minutes. While those were cooking, I marinated some pre-cubed Nasoya tofu in the last of this sauce from my trip to Puerto Rico:

The tofu has 3 servings, so I took one serving out and marinated 2/3 of the tofu right in the box.

I let that sit for a few minutes, and then browned it in a pan with some nonstick spray.

Once the soba was done, I drained it and then put some sliced shallot and little olive oil back in the pot I cooked the pasta in. Once that heated up a bit, I put the soba noodles back in the pot and cracked an egg right over them.

I just stirred the egg up right into the pasta, and it scrambles but spreads all over the noodles this way. I learned this method back in college from one of my Italian friends and haven’t done it in so long! I added a little salt and pepper, and then grated some parmesan over the top. I served the tofu on the side, and then also took some of the arugula from the Farmer’s Market and drizzled it with some olive oil and some more parmesan.

I also drank some iced green tea out of a mason jar.

This dinner was so awesome! I can’t believe I forgot about that egg in the pasta trick… it is seriously so good and adds a lot of protein to your pasta if you’re not having any meat, beans, or tofu with it. It works best with long pastas like spaghetti, angel hair, and fettuccine, as opposed to short pasta like penne. Definitely worth a try!

I’m off to watch a movie.. we got two new ones from Netflix today. Have a good night!

6 Responses

  1. Yummy! I love love love soba noodles!

  2. I can’t wait til the farmers markets get going here.

  3. Oh she’s so cute! 🙂

  4. Stumbled across your blog recently and love it! Farmer’s markets can be pretty expensive.. We have a year round one here in Raleigh that I love but it’s always packed to the gills with people and is expensive. My Fiancee and I actually purchased a CSA last night and all of our fruits and veggies will be delivered to our door every week. Local and Organic.. I’m excited! 🙂 The egg in the noodles sounds yummy! may have to try that next time I make noodles.. have a great day!

    • I just signed up for a CSA for the first time this year, too! I’m so excited about it, but it doesn’t start until June so until then I’ll be surfing the Farmer’s Markets around here. Thanks for stopping by and glad you like the blog!

  5. If that duck is still there next week, I am going to buy it.

Leave a Reply

