• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Weird Day

Hey there! Today has been kind of strange day. After I posted my breakfast, I started feeling really weird. I can’t explain it exactly, but I felt a tightness in my chest and it hurt when I breathed in really deep. I just felt so ‘off’ and I started freaking out a bit that sometimes was really wrong. Of course I googled the symptoms and it said it was likely a heart attack… It kind of reminded me of that scene in Sex and the City where Miranda says if you want to self-diagnosis, just google your symptoms and scroll down until you see Cancer across the screen… Anyways, I talked to my sister and she said it was probably heartburn, but it didn’t feel like that. Luckily, it passed after almost an hour and I ended up walking to CVS to get some antacid just to be safe, and as I walked to CVS it started feeling a lot better. I really have no idea what it was, but I am glad to say its passed. I’m going to pay close attention to my body to see if anything else weird goes on and see a doctor if need be, but for now, I feel OK.

That might have had something to do with it, but I didn’t get hungry for lunch until after 1pm, which is a record for me. I was excited to have my leftover sweet potato ravioli, which was a lot more delicious than it looks.

I ended up eating 2 more of them last night, so this was only six. The ravioli by themselves are so delicious and flavorful, that they only need a light sauce. I’m still trying to think of a sauce that would go with them that is not Brown Butter sauce.. so any ideas are very welcome! I also made a side salad to go with the ravioli.

This salad had baby spinach with roasted red peppers and some spicy banana peppers on top. I almost always pack my salad ingredients separately and then assemble them at the office, but today I packed it all together and then remembered why I normally make the effort to pack everything separately… The juice from the peppers got all over the salad and wilted the spinach and it was just really wet. Even after I poured the liquid out of the salad container, there was still a bunch at the bottom of the plate as I got towards the bottom. At least I validated the extra time I take to pack my salad ingredients separately.

I also had a Sobe LifeWater on the side. This flavor was delicious.

Mango Melon. I’ve tried one of the other flavors – something with Pear and another flavor – and I didn’t liek it at all. This one was really good, though.

After lunch, I was craving Swedish Fish, so I decided to run to CVS to pick up a bag. I ate them on the walk back to the office and was planning on saving some for later/tomorrow, and before I knew it, the whole bag was empty.

Ugh. They were good, but not good enough to eat the whole bag. I just was mindlessly munching and then there were none left. 😦 Next time I’m craving something, I’ll make sure to buy a single serving bag, or just put half away before I start. Life goes on….

I have a Chobani Honey flavor (my FAVORITE) packed, but I’ve kind of spoiled my appetite with the Swedish fish. I’ll probably have it just before 5 when I head over to the Farmer’s Market to pick up some produce. The weather seems to be holding up perfectly, so I am really looking forward to going for a nice bike ride tonight. I’ve only gotten to take my bike out once since I got in on Sunday so I’m ready for another ride!

Be back later!

4 Responses

  1. Glad you’re feeling better – I came into work late today because I was feeling weird this am too! Mine was a severe stomach cramp though – something in my sangria or veggie fajitas at Guapos?! Mostly gone, but trying to rev myself up to work out tonight…that’s hard!

    Thanks for sharing your GM 101 – I want to try but have been so timid. I will make it a goal to do so this upcoming week!

  2. That happens to me too. It’s usually a reminder that I’m holding my breath. It’s related to anxiety. I don’t even realize I do it sometimes.

  3. i sometimes feel that way after too much COFFEE…

  4. I heart Swedish Fish! In fact, “freshman 15” I gained in college probably consisted largely of them (plus lots of pizza and beer).

    Hope you’re feeling better – I get like that as well & as hundredtenpounds says above, I get mine from anxiety.

Leave a Reply

