• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Dark Chocolate Dreams

Good Morning! Finally, Friday is here! Today is my 12th day in a row working, so I have been looking forward to this weekend for a loooong time. And now, just this work day stands between me and the weekend. Woohoo.

I picked up a few different kinds of Starbucks tea that I was looking forward to trying and brought this one in for today:

Then, on my metro ride in, I was reading the newest issue of Shape (with Ellen DeGeneres on the cover.. love her!!) when I came across this blurb…

Are you putting your health in hot water?

When you’re in a rush, it’s tempting use hot H20 from the faucet to brew your Earl Grey. But this shortcut can exposure you to contaminants like lead, copper, and rust. “Hot tap water is more likely to leach these compounds from your pipes,” says James M. Symons, the author of Plain Talk About Drinking Water. That may put you at risk for potential problems, such as lead poisoning. For the safest sip, bring cold water to a boil.

I have been known to just turn the tap water up as hot as it would go, let it run for a little bit, and then use that for my tea. I never even thought about the risk involved in it, I just thought it was a smart shortcut for hot tea! Oops. Needless to say, I poured COLD water into the teapot today and heated it up to boiling for the Chai. I’m sipping on it now and it is really good.

Last night I was putting together my breakfast/lunch for today when I noticed my jar of Dark Chocolate Dreams was running pretty low.

While I was bummed to be out of this stuff, I was pretty excited to get to have Overnight Oats in a Jar for today! And not just any kind, Chocolate Dreams Overnight Oats in a Jar….. yum, yum, yum.

My overnight oat mix had:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup light soy milk
  • 1/3 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder

For toppings, I used ground flax, dark chocolate chunks, sliced almonds, and dried cherries.

One of the best things about Oats in a Jar is that the nut butter is spread all around the jar, so you get a little bit with each bite, even the last one. With this in mind, I decided to put some of the toppings at the bottom of the jar, then the oats on top, then the rest of the toppings. It was such a good idea! I think I’m going to do that with my oats from now on… it makes getting to the bottom a little less sad. πŸ™‚

Happy Friday!!

5 Responses

  1. Gotta love oats in a jar! I was doing the various oats with nut butters for a while but unfortunately it’s a little high in calories in the morning and I start gaining weight. I thought it would hold me longer till lunch but I would STILL want my snacks, lunch and dinner. Boo! Nut butters are one of my most favorite things.

  2. I’m drooling a bit over that dessert. Wow it looks heavenly….

  3. love your breakfast-a great way to start the day! i love tazo tea but my fav is passion. are you serious about the hot water? scary!
    happy friday πŸ™‚

  4. My gosh those overnight oats look absolutely amazing! & it looks like it’d keep ya full for a good couple of hours, which is the best thing ever when it comes to bfast. yum yum yum I’ve got to get me some protein powder!! and greek yogurt… and an almost-empty jar o’ goodness πŸ™‚ take care!!

Leave a Reply

