• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Yogen Fruz

I’m still dreaming about the Oats in a Jar from this morning… so, so good! They held me over until after 1pm and I wasn’t even that hungry by then, it was just time to eat. I had two yummy things for lunch today. First, I took some of the leftover soba noodles (not with the egg) and added in the marinated tofu and a little extra sauce.

I actually accidentally spilled a lot of it out over my desk, and luckily I had just cleaned my desk this morning so I knew it was safe to eat, but very close call. I ate it cold and it was so good. This sauce is something I’m going to have to try to re-create at home because it adds so much delicious flavor and has next to nothing in terms of calories. With my soba noodles, I had a salad with a base of fresh arugula from the Farmer’s Market.

The arugula is so fresh and peppery… I’m so glad I made this purchase! On top of the arugula, I cut up three radishes (also from the Farmer’s Market), added some spicy banana pepper rings, and fresh shaved Parmesan. Though you can’t see it, I also added the rest of the Kiwi Salsa to this salad which tied everything together. I brought in all my salad ingredients packaged separately today and it makes a HUGE difference in the freshness of the salad.

For an afternoon snack, I had a real treat today. I went to my favorite frozen yogurt place, Yogen Fruz, which I’ve written about a few times on here. I was in touch with the people over at Yogen Fruz and they asked me to come in and try one of their NuMixes to see what I thought. They have Pina Colada, Chocolate Almond, Lychee Green Tea, Chai Latte, Key Lime Pie, and Mint Chocolate Chip flavors of the mixes. Basically, they take their regular frozen yogurt, mix a flavor into it, and then add the toppings that go with it. Today I tried the Key Lime Pie kind, where they took the nonfat yogurt, added key lime flavor, and then top it with graham cracker crumbles.

It really tasted like key lime pie! I love how Yogen Fruz mixes the flavors into the frozen yogurt so the yogurt itself gets flavored rather than just the toppings (which they have plenty of, too).  The only thing I would change is that the graham crackers themselves were ground really fine, almost to a powder, and I would have preferred them a little chunkier. Flavor-wise though, this was spot-on, and definitely something I’d try again.

I think I’m going to go on another bike ride tonight since its so gorgeous out and is supposed to rain all weekend (boo!). Other than that, not sure where tonight will take me, but my first day off in a while is so close, I can taste it!

14 Responses

  1. I love yogen fuz! I really wish I had one where I was now. Those nu mixes look delicious. I’ll have to wait until I go home again to get it.

    • Yeah the nu-mixes are so awesome! I can’t wait to try a different flavor.

      • I really like that they blend the flavors. The one near my house blends fruit into the yogurt, so you get the fruit flavors YOU want instead of pre-made ones. I love it. I’m obsessed with mango flavored anything, especially frozen yogurt.

      • Yeah they will blend fruit or the flavors into the yogurt, which is so awesome. It’s done to order too and the packs of yogurt and pre-packaged so you know the nutritionals are accurate and the mix is fresh!

  2. I love Yogen Fruz! My favorite mix is chocolate yogurt, blended with blackberries and topped with chocolate shavings!

  3. Just found your blog… um, love? I’m now craving the soba noodles and the sweet potato ravioli! Yum, yum! Thanks for sharing such good ideas!

  4. *drooooooool* FYI to other fans: You can follow Yogen Fruz on twitter! @YogenFruz

  5. You had me at banana peppers – yum! I know – I am with you on the weather – we are supposed to get 1-3 inches of rain by Monday – just happy its no more snow though!

    Happy Friday (my real name is Beth, but my nickname is Biz!)

  6. Yum!!! Oh how I miss being able to field trip with you. I love how they mix the fruit in frozen. Its not as messy and you are guaranteed to have fruit in every bite.

  7. That frozen yogurt looks soooo good.

  8. Mmm, feel free to send me some of that Yogurt Fruz 😉

    I like the peppery taste of arugula, too. Have you ever had spicy radishes? My sister used to grow them on the organic farm she worked on, and they were delicious!

  9. I just found your site last week. This is my first post. What do you soak your tofu in?? I want to try tofu but Im alittle scared. Where do you get soba noodles they seem to be hard to find. Trader Joe’s has them but thats a treck for me to get to! Love your site it’s very encouraging.

    • Hi! Glad you’re enjoying the blog. I don’t actually soak the tofu in anything – some people press it, but if you find the pre-cubed kind you don’t even have to do that. Soba Noodles are a little hard to find but I get mine at Whole Foods – they have them in a few different kinds there but the kind I get is Eden brand.

Leave a Reply

