• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Nice Little Saturday

Hiya. I have nothing terribly exciting to report today except that finally having a day off has been wonderful! 🙂

I went to the mall and did a bunch of looking, but didn’t purchase anything. The mall was sooo crowded so the lines to try anything on or to get to the cash register were much too long for me. I did spot a Subway while I was walking around which is always a nice option when I’m on the go. I actually tried to find the food court but somehow got lost and found the Subway again so I figured it was meant to be. I got a 6″ veggie delite on wheat with pepperjack cheese.

I had them toast the bread with the cheese and then loaded on the veggies. Spinach, green peppers, red onions, tomatoes, cucumbers, olives, and pickles. I also got some Baked Lays to go with it.

Yum. I haven’t had Subway in so long and I really do like it as a fast food option.

I did stop at Trader Joe’s on the way home from the mall, so not all was lost. I love Trader Joe’s but the closest one is about 20 minutes from my house, so I usually have to have an excuse to head out that way to make the trip. I got a lot of produce (blackberries, spinach, bananas, yellow bell pepper), frozen fruit and veggies, and some tart frozen yogurt that I’m excited to try. I also got a lot of other random stuff but hadn’t been there in a while so it was necessary. I ended up spending about $55 and am going to try not to go grocery shopping again until next weekend. I’ve been pretty good lately about using up what I have and not overdoing it at the grocery store, so hopefully this trend can continue.

After I got home from Trader Joe’s, I did Jillian Michaels’ Yoga Meltdown from ExerciseTV on Demand. I did two bike rides in a row yesterday and the day before so I didn’t want to ride again or run, but this workout is pretty challenging. It’s 30 minutes and its quick moving, so my heart rate was up and I was sweating, but I also got a lot of good deep stretching in. I had a quick snack after the workout before heading back out to do some more shopping.

This was ~1/2 cup nonfat cottage cheese from Trader Joe’s, covered with blackberries and more of the pumpkin flax granola from Whole Foods. I haven’t had cottage cheese in ages so when I saw it in Trader Joe’s I snagged some and it is delish.

I went to a Sports Authority because I had a coupon for $10 off from the Cherry Blossom 10 Mile run from a few weeks ago and wanted to get some bike accessories. I bought a gel seating pad that fits over your seat, a new water bottle, and a new sports bra. I also stopped at Target and bought a bunch of other stuff I didn’t need, making up for buying nothing at the mall. 🙂

I was pretty disappointed when I got home and realized the gel seat cover doesn’t fit over my seat! Argh. I’m going to try to return it but I already ripped the cardboard it was attached to. 😦 Ah well hopefully they’ll still take it back. We then decided to order some indian food for dinner from a restaurant we’ve never tried before. I hadn’t had Indian in ages and really didn’t feel like cooking, and we were pleasantly surprised with the food! It came in 30 minutes and was hot and delicious! Wil ordered Lamb Vindaloo, and I got Palak Paneer (spinach with cheese) and Okra that was cooked in a spicy sauce. We also got a huge thing of Basamati rice, some naan, and veggie samosas that came complimentary with our order. Here’s my plate:

I had one veggie samosa, and basamati rice covered with spinach and okra. Everything was delicious! There was also unpictured yogurt sauce which was super necessary because everything was spicy so the yogurt sauce went with it perfectly and cooled it off. I really missed Indian food and am glad we found a good, cheap place that delivers! I have leftovers of both the veggies, so I just combined them into one container and will look forward to those one day soon.

Hope you’re having a nice weekend, too!

5 Responses

  1. All I asked for Mother’s Day was a trip to the mall, Whole Foods, Trader Joes, and Target. haha. So you had my perfect day!

  2. I always spend too much money at Trader Joes. They have such good stuff!

  3. Your Indian food looks amazing! Subway is my favourite fast food option on the go as well.

  4. I find that shopping at TJs saves me so much money and I shop so much better. When I jump into HT there are too many processed temptations! 🙂 Luckily I work right by the Old Town HT and live down the road from the one in Bailey’s Crossroads. PS If you guys haven’t had Ravi Kabob on Glebe and Pershing you must. SOOO yum – total dive.

  5. Nice pics. The yogurt sauce that came with Indian food is called “Raita”… really easy to make.. beat up plain yogurt (low fat) with some chilled water.. spice it up with some roasted ground cumin, ground paprika chili pepper and salt. You can also find readymade “Raita” spice in all Indian grocery stores.

Leave a Reply

