• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Back

Monday Morning… ick. I know this is a common sentiment but boy could I have used another day of the weekend! It just went by way too fast. Sorry I didn’t come back yesterday, I was just caught up in my Sunday and didn’t want to acknowledge that it was coming to an end. It also wasn’t the healthiest of days food-wise, but its all about balance, right?

For lunch, we went to a new place called the Stray Cat Cafe. It’s a really cool place with lots of cat pictures everywhere and cat names for most of the foods on the menu. The restaurant supports the Lost Dog and Cat Rescue Foundation which rescues and places over a thousand abandoned dogs and cats each year, which is pretty cool, too.

We started off with the Finicky Feline Dip, which was a vegetarian version of the regular Feline Dip. It had veggie chili, cheese, guac, lettuce, and tomato.

It came with warm pita bread and tortilla chips, and was really delish. For my main course, I got the Bentley Wrap, which was a grilled pita topped with spinach, tomatoes, artichoke hearts, roasted red peppers, with Monterey Jack Cheese. I ordered it with Sweet Potato Fries on the side (my fav)

It also came with a pickle! This was so, sooooo good. There was a lot of cheese on it (maybe a little too much) but the veggies underneath went together so well and I gobbled down the whole thing. The sweet potato fries were crispy and delicious, too.  Yum.

Then we went bowling. I love bowling, but we haven’t gone in so long. The alleys always make me feel like I’m in the 1980s and I love how they do nothing to update their decor. It just wouldn’t be the same if they did.

And check out my new kicks!

I got these on clearance for 19.99. It makes me feel better wearing my own shoes, and these ones are so much nicer than the rentals at the bowling alley. The last time we went, my boyfriend got shoes that had been worn so many times, the soles were basically worn through and they were just gross.. after that, I went on the search for cheap shoes and found these ones, orginially 199.99, for $20! It costs $5 each time to rent shoes, so if I go 4 times, they’re paid for… 3 to go. =) I did really bad at bowling yesterday but it was still fun. I didn’t break 100 either time, sad.

After that we went home and watched Up in the Air from Netflix.. cute movie, but nothing to write home about. I love George Clooney though so that made it worth watching. A few hours later we ordered some unpictured pizza, but this time I didn’t eat the whole thing.. baby steps, right? I went to bed around 11 and couldn’t believe it was time to wake up at 7:30am when my alarm went off! I didn’t do anything to prepare for today like I usually do, ie pack my lunch, think about what to wear, etc. I did end up throwing together a delicious breakfast this morning before running off to work.

I mixed together a Strawberry Chobani with 1/2 cup rolled oats and then sliced a whole banana over it. I threw on some blackberries and 1 tbsp dark chocolate chips and devoured the bowl at my desk. Really delish. I think it’s great that you can eat rolled oats mixed into yogurt and its not necessary to let it sit overnight. It’s definitely thicker and a different texture than overnight oats, but they are still so good if they don’t sit together.

I got into work today and had about 50 new emails from the weekend… it’s going to be one of those kind of days! Gotta get cracking. Happy Monday!

3 Responses

  1. how do you remember the 80s? 😉

  2. That restaurant sounds so neat and your meal looks delicious.

    I love bowling, I haven’t been in what seems ages. The shoes are pretty icky.

  3. That food looks really yummy!

Leave a Reply

