• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Just Another Snacky Day

Today was a super snacky day, so I went with it. Lunch kept me full for a few hours, so I didn’t have a snack until 4:30pm at work and then I was really hungry. I had the only snack I brought with me – an orange.

I cut the orange into sections and then decided to cut them in half again – doesn’t this look like so much? It felt that way! It took me a lot longer to eat than usual, so I think I’m going to cut them up like this from now on. When I got home from work, I was still pretty hungry, so I decided to have a piece of toast with almond butter.

I added the last of the dried cherries to this piece of bread and it was goooood.

I couldn’t figure out what to have for dinner, so I threw together another snack while I was figuring it out.

This is a tomato from the Farmer’s Market sliced up and topped with torn basil and fresh mozzarella. I had half of these and shared the rest with my boyfriend. While eating these, I decided I needed more cheese, so figured that quesadillas for dinner would be the way to go. I sauteed some red onion, then added frozen corn and baby spinach to bulk up the quesadilla. They turned out awesome.

See how the veggies and cheese are oozing out? Mmmm!

I served the quesadilla with a simple arugula salad with fresh grated parmesan and a drizzle of olive oil. SO good!

I was craving something sweet after that, so I broke into the tart frozen yogurt from Trader Joe’s and had it on a cone.

This stuff is SO good. It tastes kind of like soft serve fro yo that you’d get from a shop, but its a lot creamier than that and I love having it on an ice cream cone!

I’ve officially closed my kitchen so that’s the end of that. I took another day off from working out, so I’m going to do a hardcore workout tomorrow. It’s supposed to be pretty rainy tomorrow so it might have to be inside. blah. Back to my plan of having a more substantial snack in the afternoon.. I really think it helps hold me off from snacking from when I get home until after dinner…

Nurse Jackie tonight!! Good night!

10 Responses

  1. Mmm, your caprese salad and oozing quesadilla have me drooling all over my keyboard 😉 I love the idea of cutting your snack into small sections to make it last longer – smart!

    Have a great day!

  2. I don’t even like tomatoes that much and your tomato with basil and chese looks awesome!

  3. love your snacks especially your tomato and mozzarella! never tried the fro yo from tj’s. is it new?
    i think we have the same stove…..can see it in one of your pics!
    happy tuesday!

    • You know I don’t know if its new – a friend of mine had it in their freezer and I spotted it so I decided to look for it at TJ’s and it was there. I didn’t ask any questions!! 🙂

  4. I will have to keep my eye out for the frozen yogurt at TJ’s, it sounds amazing!

  5. Love caprese salad and quesadillas! Yours look fab.

  6. Two comments – first, they sell tart frozen yogurt at TJ’s?? Like pink berry flavor? That’s incredible, have you tried it in smoothies? second – beth! i love the new format. you’re a rockstar. love you!!

  7. Your snack of tomatoes and mozzarella are a great idea. No crackers! Love it!

  8. Oooo…That quesadilla looks AMAZING!!!!!!! What kind of wrap did ya use!?

Leave a Reply

