• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Artichoke Ravioli with One Ingredient Sauce

Hey! Every day seems to be flying by lately.. I can’t believe it’s already Tuesday night!

Sadly my camera battery died and I’ve looked everywhere for the charger and can’t seem to find it! I’m hoping it is at work but if not you’ll be getting crappy pictures for the next few days.

I had an afternoon snack of nonfat cottage cheese with blackberries which held me over pretty well. I had grand plans to do a Brick Workout for the first time, which is where you bike and then run. I was going to bike 5-6 miles then run 2-3, just to see if I could do it. I keep my bike on my balcony for now because my lock just arrived yesterday so I haven’t gotten it into motion yet. I moved my bike out into the hallway and then without thinking, closed the door behind me and locked myself out! My front desk was pretty helpful but it took a while so it was getting kind of late when I finally got out to ride. I ended up deciding to do a mini brick and go for a longer bike ride and then do The Shred Level 1. It was intense! I biked 9 miles in 43 minutes, which means I’m getting faster and more confident on the bike! Then I came home and did the 20 minutes of The Shred and it was hard. I pushed through and was really happy when I was done!

Pre workout, I ate a packet of Barney Butter (90 calories) and then afterwards, I made a Green Monster. I hadn’t had one in SO long and was craving one!

This Green Monster had:

  • 1 cup light soy milk
  • 2 big handfuls of spinach
  • 1 packet organic wheatgrass
  • 1 small frozen banana
  • 2 handfuls of frozen mixed fruit (mostly strawberries and honeydew melon)

It hit the spot bigtime. šŸ™‚

After that, I decided to whip up another batch of Wonton Skin Ravioli… this time though I got a good match with the sauce and the filling. I took 1 cup of frozen artichoke hearts and defrosted them, and then pulsed them in the food processor. I added 1/4 cup ricotta cheese and pulsed it together, then added some salt and pepper, and that made the filling.

Once the filling was done, I put on a pot of water to boil, and by the time I had made 16 ravioli, the water was boiling. I threw them in the boiling water in 2 batches for 4 minutes. While those were cooking, I made a delicious sauce, Red Pepper Coulis, that had ONE ingredient. Roasted Red Peppers! I took two whole roasted peppers and pureed them in the food processor. My mom used to make this to go with with swordfish and I never liked swordfish much but I loved the sauce… and it really doesn’t get much easier! I heated the sauce in the microwave and poured it over the ravioli, and then grated some fresh parmesan on top.

It was SO simple and so good! Literally start to finish, including making the filling, stuffing the wontons, cooking them, and making the sauce, was less than 10 minutes. And it was delicious. I love artichoke hearts and haven’t had them in so long! I picked up a package of frozen organic artichoke hearts when I was at Trader Joe’s over the weekend and was really looking forward to using them. Yum, yum, yum.

I wanted something sweet after that, so I made a quick dessert that was amazing.

A triple chocolate chunk vitatop with nonfat frozen yogurt, drizzled with almond butter. This looks like more fro yo than it was – those scoops are hollow. šŸ™‚ Perfect way to end the meal.

Now I’m gonna catch up on the Biggest Loser… see you all tomorrow!

4 Responses

  1. It’s for real now! I think I’m going to try + make my first Green Monster!! šŸ™‚ I’m using your simple, short list of ingredients and I’m so excited! Thanks for sharing it, I’m so ready to make one of those tasty looking things. & that ravioli looks crazy good!

    Have a great week!

  2. That Vitatop with Ice cream look delicious! i miss them in my life. Sigh

  3. I always have to add some sort of chocolate to my green monsters these days. The green freaks me out for some reason. I have to say-I absolutely LOVE ravioli. Any kind, any way. It has to be my favorite. This dish looks awesome! P.s. I am also in the DC area. We should def have a little blogger meet up sometime!!!!

  4. praise the lord for VitaTops. Every single time I eat one I feel like jumping around. They are SO good.

Leave a Reply

