• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Easy Homemade Granola

Morning! Today is chilly here in DC but sunny instead of raining like it has the last several days. I’m really looking forward to going on a bike ride or for a run tonight after work! My body is ready to move now that I’ve taken two days off in a row. 🙂

I love granola on my yogurt/oatmeal, but it’s usually really expensive in the store and has a lot more calories and fat than I like for a topping (besides nut butter of course). So, I decided to make my own last night, and it was SO easy and came out so delicious, even if I baked it for a little too long. The great thing about making it at home is you can control exactly what goes into it, and how much oil and/or honey you put into it, so you can control the nutritionals.

Into this bowl went:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp honey

That’s it! I mixed this all together, making sure to spread the honey and olive oil evenly throughout the dry ingredients, and then spread it out on top of wax paper in a 13×9 in pan.

Then, I put it in the oven at 350º for 25 minutes, mixing it around half way through.

If I could do it over again, I would have taken it out after 20 minutes instead of 25. It isn’t burnt by any means, just a little dark. Guess that’s the trouble with making up your own recipes! 🙂 Store it in an airtight container. I made it into 4 huge servings, but it could easily make 6 or 8.

But really, you can make this with anything you have around. The honey/oil clumps it together so it gets crunchy and delicious. You can add cinnamon, dried fruit, chocolate, sunflower or pumpkin seeds… you name it. Just remember that if you’re going to put any chocolate or dried fruit (raisins, cherries, etc), you want to add those things after its done baking, but while its still fresh out of the oven and warm.

Even though I sampled some last night after it was done, I couldn’t wait to try it out on my yogurt this morning.

I had a Chobani 0% plain yogurt with a big serving of the granola, a sliced banana, and a sprinkle of cinnamon. It was seriously SO good and so easy! Plus, this granola is sooo cheap compared to buying a $5+ box in the store.

Happy Tuesday!!

8 Responses

  1. I have never understood how stores get away with charging so much for granola- it is OATS. Oats are cheap!
    I’ve seen a million bloggers make granola this week and it all looks awesome and clearly I am next!

  2. Hey Beth,

    This has nothing to do with this post but wanted to inform you after being inspired by you that I started drinking green monsters and did ONO this week… OMG I’m in love. I can really feel the difference after drinking the green monsters and I stay full for SO long with the oats. Love your blog!

  3. How many calories do you think are in your homemade granola? I shy away from granola because it’s notoriously high in calories…. 😦

    • It’s really not that bad! This entire tray (which is a LOT) has 721 calories. It can be 4 huge servings, or else 6-8 regular sized servings. 120 calories per serving if you make 6 out of it.

  4. I have yet to make my own granola, but really need to. This sounds so easy and yummy!

  5. So thankful for this post. I have been dying to know how to make my own granola. It really burns my behind to pay so much for oats and honey…THANK YOU. THANK YOU.

  6. I tried my version, and it is okay, I think it is back to the drawing board.
    http://www.livestrong.com/recipes/granola-adapted-alton-brown/

    I used some of your ratios. It didn’t clump though, so it would work better to sprinkle on sometime, rather than eat by hand like a snack.

    I saw some recipes that put in unsweetened applesauce as part of the liquid, I might do that to get it to clump and save calories.

    Back to the drawing board.

Leave a Reply

