• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Snooze!

Bad news. My camera charger isn’t at work, like I was hoping it would be. šŸ˜¦ I looked online to see how much a new one would cost and its $50!! $50 for a little piece of plastic! I was just going to buy it if it was $20 or less, but now I’m going to go home after work and do another thorough sweep of the apartment to make sure its nowhere before I dish out $50 for it. But, in all likelihood, pictures will be coming from my Droid in the next few days. Sad.

For some reason, I had a lot of trouble getting up today. I normally wake up pretty easily when my alarm goes off, but today I snoozed three times! I was expecting to wake up a little sore from last night’s bike ride and The Shred, but I’m actually not feeling stiff or sore at all which is good news. Hopefully I can do a true brick workout soon and not lock myself out of my apartment in the process of getting ready for it… šŸ™‚ I realize I haven’t gone on a run in a long time, so tonight might be a good night to do that.

This morning I had a bowl of Overnight Oats. It feels like it’s been a long time since I’ve had them, so I was excited to dive in.

This bowl had:

– 1/2 cup oats

– 1/3 cup organic almond milk

– 1/3 cup nonfat greek yogurt

– 1 small mashed banana

– 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder

– Toppings: Freeze dried pineapple (!!!) and sliced almonds

This bowl of overnight oats was sooooooo good! The freeze dried pineapple was really the star and added such a nice crunch to my breakfast. I picked up the bag of it at Trader Joe’s over the weekend and it’s an awesome topping! The pieces were whole rings but I crushed them a bit before sprinkling them on top of the bowl. Yum!

Happy Hump Day!

4 Responses

  1. Hi. You have a very nice blog. I need to try the famous overnight oats soon. I won’t use protein powder though. Probably use more yogurt, milk, bananas and nut butter!
    Nice blog.

  2. Are overnight oats, just a type of oats or is there something special about them. I’ve been meaning to ask. I see them a lot and have no idea what they are.

    • I just answered this in my lunch post because I’ve seen quite a few questions about it, but it’s just regular oats that you prepare the night before. I use rolled oats, but you can use any kind. You mix it with yogurt and milk, and then leave it in the fridge overnight. I eat it cold but some people like to heat it up if cold oats isn’t your thing.

  3. lol amazing story dude.

Leave a Reply

