• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Day Two

Hi! I just got back from Day 2 of Bikram in a row and it is amazing. Tonight was actually harder than last night! I think yesterday I was soooo scared going into it, so I was surprised that I could handle it and left feeling like a million bucks. Today, I felt like I knew what I was doing a bit more, so I went into it a little overconfident. Not like I thought I was going to be the best person in the class (at all), just completely confident I could handle it.

But, today I actually had more trouble staying in the room the whole time, even though yesterday I didn’t even think about leaving once. There were two things that made a difference in this. First, no one left during class today, so the door never opened to let any cool air in (which is how its supposed to be) but yesterday I got a few breezes which helped me stay cool. Second, I left my water bottle at the studio yesterday, so I just filled it with cold water today once I got it, rather than the ice I had it filled with yesterday. The bottle ended up getting a little warmer that I would have liked. Definitely bring ice water!!

I did sit in the front row today so I was in front of the mirror which was awesome because I was really able to watch my postures and make sure I was doing them right. There were a few postures I could go into deeper today than yesterday, and I felt a lot more comfortable with the sequence since I did it yesterday. I am definitely going to take tomorrow of, but am thinking about doing a week unlimited at a new studio next week and trying to go as many days as I can. The improvement from yesterday to today alone with my postures makes me excited to see the progress over more time. It’s pretty amazing watching your body transform and being able to do new things!

For a snack around 4:30p at work, I had a bowl of nonfat cottage cheese (~2/3 cup) with a chopped up pink lady apple.

Having the bigger lunch today definitely kept me full for longer than usual, so the day was almost done when I finally got around to having my snack. After work, I ventured over to the Farmer’s Market and bought some produce.

Baby kale, arugula, a bunch of cilantro, 4 fuji apples, and turnips. I got all of this for around $20 which I felt like was a good deal! I was going to skip the kale this week, but the sign said its their last week for spring kale, so I had to pick up one last batch of it. If anyone has good kale ideas for me, please let me know! I’m definitely going to make kale chips and I am sure more massaged kale salads are in my future. 🙂

After Bikram, I had an unpictured popsicle and I drank an orange G2 Gatorade during class, which I think helped me stay in the room! Once I got home, I wasn’t really that hungry, but I wanted to have something. Kind Bars sent me a few samples to try, so I tried the Almond and Cashew bar.

I had never had a Kind Bar before, though I’ve seen them in Starbucks, and this was DELICIOUS! It was chewy, but also crunchy because of the almonds and cashews in it. The nutrition facts are really good, too – 150 calories, 9g fat, 4g fiber, 4g protein and then a bunch of vitamins. The ingredient list is also pretty short: Dates, Almonds, Cashews, Honey, Glucose, Milled Flaxseed, Soluble Dietary Fiber, and Natural Flavor. I have a few other flavors to try and am really looking forward to them!

I’m off to catch up on the DVR. See you tomorrow!

5 Responses

  1. I love hot yoga!
    My studio is small and a little earthy crunchy, but they are super accommodating, and have a 4 session Intro to Yoga series.
    They also offer free yoga to those in the community that are unemployed and still want to maintain their practice.
    Enjoy it, I always sleep like a baby when I’m done. 🙂

    • I definitely slept like a baby and did not want to wake up this morning! Very cool that your studio offers a 4 sessions intro. I’m definitely going to branch out into other forms of yoga but I am loving Bikram for now!

  2. i really need to try a kind bar- ive heard great reviews about them from others too. glad u liked them!

    so glad u went to bikram again.. i bet it was a great experience! yea i would have gone in really confident too, and then got my butt whipped lol- reality check. no, ur a tough cookie for doing it and succeeding. congrats!

    xoxo

  3. Think I’ll pick up a kind bar…always wanted to try one.

  4. Cottage Cheese is my fave, especially whipped 1% 🙂 Glad you enjoyed Bikram again!

Leave a Reply

