• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Same Day Breakfast Cookie

Morning! I caved last night and went to Best Buy to buy a new charger for my camera. I was going to order it off Amazon.com because I found it for a bit cheaper, but with shipping it would have come out to about the same, plus I would have had to wait a few days to get it. So I decided to just buy it in person rather than online and Best Buy had a universal Cannon charger that was $41 instead of $50, so not as bad. I’m going to hold on to this for dear life though – – I still can’t believe the little charger costs that much!

I am feeling really good this morning! Everyone told me I was going to be so sore today, but I’m not really sore at all. I honestly cannot wait to go back and do it again. Soon, I hope!

Since I got home late from Bikram last night, I didn’t pack my breakfast or lunch until this morning. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to make, so I just started throwing things into a tupperware and then realized I was adding all the ingredients for a Breakfast Cookie. I wasn’t sure how it would be since its supposed to sit over night, but I figured I’d give it a go and see.

Into the mix went:

– 1/2 cup rolled oats

– 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder

– 1 tbsp almond butter

– 2 tbsp almond milk

– 1 tbsp chocolate chips

– 2 tbsp coconut flakes

Here is the coconut that I used:

It’s finely shredded so its not as good as flaked coconut for a topping, but it works really well when you want coconut flavor spread throughout whatever you’re eating. It went great in the breakfast cookie, works well in oatmeal, and also was the kind I used in the granola. The stats are good on this too – 4 tbsp (1/4 a cup) which is a LOT only has 70 calories and 6 grams of fat. I used half that, so only 35 calories and 3 grams of fat, and lots of coconut flavor.

Presenting… The Chocolate Coconut Breakfast Cookie.

I’m happy to say it turned out PERFECT! It ended up sitting for about an hour between when I made it and when I ate it and tasted just as good as the one that sat overnight. The coconut chocolate combo really works here and adding the protein powder makes it a super filling and satisfying breakfast. Yum!

I can’t believe it’s already Thursday. Have a good one and be back after lunch!!

7 Responses

  1. I love love love Bikram and pretty much all hot yoga (definitely depending on the teach) but the first time I wasn’t sore till 2 days later…hope you surpass that one. I have the same coconut in my cabinet and some vegan chocolate chips…think I may just have to prepare one of these babies tonight!

  2. Love this idea!
    I always remember about breakfast cookies in the morning when it is too late! Lol

    • I am so glad it worked!! It was seriously so good and its nice to know you can just throw it together in the morning if you’re forgetful like us! 🙂

  3. i have that same coconut-yes much finer than the shredded. you know i have still not made a breakfast cookie. so glad you enjoyed bikram-that is on my list to do too!

  4. I am such a lover of the chocolate and coconut combo; I really am. I used to work at a candy store in the mall when I was a teenager, and I’d stuff my smock pockets with the candy version of same (it was totally allowed!).

  5. Beth. Make me one NOW. That looks DELICIOUS!!

Leave a Reply

