• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Crumbled Tempeh Salad

I might start eating breakfast at home more… those pancakes left a smile on my face all morning! To be honest, one of the main reasons I tend to wait until I get to work to eat breakfast is because I figure if I eat at home, I’ll get hungrier for lunch a lot sooner than 12. But I think I enjoy my breakfast and have more fun throwing it together when I make it before work. Today I had those pancakes around 8:15-8:30, and was pretty full until 11:30am or so. I had an apple for a snack around then, and it held me over until 12:30 for lunch, so it worked perfectly.

This was a fuji apple from the farmer’s market yesterday. What a huge difference in flavor this was from the apples I usually get at the grocery store! It was so sweet and crispy and just delicious. Even when I buy organic apples from the grocery store, they don’t come close to this taste. I’m so excited to have 3 more of these!

Lunch was pretty interesting. I threw it together last night before Bikram because I knew I’d be too tired to put it together after I got home. I didn’t know exactly what I was going to make, so I just started throwing some ingredients into the food processor. I added a handful of kale, baby carrots, and 1/2 cup of chickpeas. I pulsed it until it was ground up together, and then I added 1 oz of light feta and 1/2 serving of tempeh, crumbled up. I seasoned it with some salt and pepper, and then let it sit overnight.

I decided to name is Crumbled Tempeh Salad. Though quite random, it was delicious and completely raw. I ate it with some Wasa Crackers.

I just discovered these in my cabinet and had completely forgotten about them. I love wasa crackers because they’re so crunchy and light, and were perfect for scooping up this salad. I also had a Massaged Kale Salad on the side to use up the last of the kale from last week’s farmers market.

Unfortunately, this was a total fail. I must have majorly overdone it with the salt without realizing. I still ate the salad, but it left a bad taste in my mouth. Sad.

After lunch I was craving something sweet, so I went to CVS and picked up some Gummy Bears. But unlike last time, I purchased a single serving bag of gummy bears, so didn’t feel guilty eating the whole thing. 🙂

They compeltely hit the spot without making me feel like I overdid it. I also grabbed a Venti Iced Green Tea from Starbucks.

Which I’m currently drinking as I finish up the last few hours of work for the week! ❤ Fridays.

9 Responses

  1. You are making me crave pancakes! And I think I might have to try out our farmer’s market. I’m tired of mushy apples.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. Have a happy Friday!

  2. You love your massaged Kale 🙂

  3. GUMMY BEARS! ❤ love this!!!

    yummy tempeh salad crumbled into deliciousness- so clever!! i will have to try.. tempeh is very yummy. have a FABULOUS day!!!!!

    xoxo ❤

  4. I have some tempeh and I have no idea what to do with it. I think I am going to have to go with your recipe.

  5. I love gummy bears, and kale, sorry it didn’t turn out well today.

  6. Your crumbled tempeh salad sounds, actually, delicious! You’re inspiring me to try putting something similar together–I wouldn’t have thought of it if it weren’t for you.

  7. I agree – I think farmer’s markets apples are so much better. I can’t wait until the markets start up around here!

    Your lunch is very clever! Sorry about the salad fail!

Leave a Reply

