• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Cookie and Candy Plate

I’m so sad that Saturday is over! Though I wasn’t feeling that fabulous for most of the day, it was nice to take it easy and enjoy the 90 degree day. I found a new place in my neighborhood for a mani/pedi and they did an awesome job. I was in there for 2.5 hours because the woman took such care. Towards the end I was definitely getting a little antsy to get out of there, but it was awesome. She gave me a really long leg and foot massage and a great hand/arm massage too. I ate a lot of snacks after the GM, starting with another Kind Bar.

This was the Fruit and Nut kind and was even better than the last one. It had a bunch of different kinds of nuts and dried fruit so every bite was a little different and it was soo good.

I also had a bagel thin toasted with ricotta (no cream cheese or butter in sight).

And then I had a small mug of cereal with one crushed Weetabix biscuit and the rest of the pumpkin flax granola from Whole Foods, with some almond milk.

Looking back, I probably should have had one thing a bit more substantial, but I was feeling pretty icky so I just went with what I felt like…

Then I got myself together and met my boyfriend at Chef Geoff Tysons tonight when he got off of work to get a bite at the bar. I decided to have a glass of Torrontes (JUST ONE)

It was good, but I didn’t even finish the glass. I got the mixed green salad with blue cheese crumbles and berry vinaigrette to start (dressing on the side).

Then I ordered the wild mushroom pizza that had fontina, taleggio, and grana padana (all types of cheese).

This pizza was soooo good. They have a special pizza oven in the restaurant to make all the pizzas, so the crusts get crispy and the toppings all melty. So, so good. I ate 2/3 of this pizza (4 small pieces) and brought the last two pieces home.

I was pretty full at this point, but we decided to get a dessert to share anyways, so I just nibbled on it. It was the Cookies and Candy plate, which is all handmade at the restaurant.

Clockwise from top left, caramel corn, chocolate dipped toffee, dolce de leche, cinnamon sugar cookie, an anise marshmallow, and chocolate covered almonds. I tried a bit of everything and it was incredible. Handmade candy is like nothing else! I laughed a little because its called “cookies and candy” but it came out with only one cookie. Turns out the kitchen ran out of cookies so they just gave us one, but I found it pretty funny because I have a strange sense of humor… 🙂

Off to bed… I am going to sleep well tonight!

5 Responses

  1. i love putting cereal in a mug!

    omg i love that dessert plate. so happy i guessed right about the caramel corn. looks delicious. i think my fav would be the chocolate dipped toffee. a-m-a-z-i-n-g ❤

  2. Mushroom pizza is an instrument of someone divine, but I’m not sure if it has heavenly or demonic influences. Yowsa. I think that’s what makes it so good.

  3. i got a mani pedi this weekend too-my feet look alot better that is for sure 🙂

  4. The KIND bars are so good, I really like the mango.

  5. everything looks so good! good job on the cream cheese butter free bagel 🙂 who needs those things anyway? and that pizza looks so divine! Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

