• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Happy Hour and Bikram Are Not A Good Combo

This is the first and last post you will see that talks about both Happy Hour and Bikram because this combo will never happen again for me!

Happy hour last night turned into quite a late night (for me). Several coworkers and I went to Cafe Asia after work. The night started innocently enough with some sake.

And I got a bowl of miso soup

and some sushi.

A spicy tuna roll and one piece each of octopus, salmon, yellowtail, and eel to be exact. The sushi and soup were both delicious, and the sake kept flowing. I ended up overdoing it bigtime with Sake because we were all sharing the bottles of it so it was hard to tell how much I was drinking. Towards the end of the night, I ordered a large bowl of udon noodle soup because I needed something more in my stomach.

This was incredible. There two two tempura fried shrimp in the soup and lots of udon noodles in a delicious broth. I’m glad I got that bowl of soup because I couldn’t imagine how I would have felt this morning without it.

I woke up at 7am and could not go back to sleep. My body tends to do that to me if I drink, and so I just decided to get up and go on my way. I went to Target at 8 to pick up a few things, and I was not feeling so hot while there, so I got some gingerale. I came home and decided to make a Grilled Apple Peanut Butter Sandwich, which was delicious.

I have seen peanut butter banana sandwiches all around the blogsphere but I was out of bananas so decided to try it with an apple and it was awesome! I sliced up the apple and microwaved it for 1 minute with a little of water at the bottom of the bowl. Then I took 2 sliced of whole wheat toast and spread 1 tbsp peanut butter on each piece. I placed all the cooked apples on top of the peanut butter on one piece and then the other piece of bread on top. Then I grilled it in a pan to brown the bread for about 1-2 minutes per side. The apples were soft so worked great in this sandwich and you can never go wrong with peanut butter.

It was sooo good and definitely made me feel a lot better. I also drank a lot of water all morning (and throughout the night). I met up with my friend Lianne to go to Bikram at 11 like we had planned. Once I got in the room, I started sweating almost immediately. This was a different studio than I’d been to before, and this was Lianne’s first time doing Bikram! I did the first few postures and then just started feeling awful. I had to sit down through many of the poses, which I didn’t have to do either of the first two times I went. I felt nauseous and uncomfortable but managed to stay in the room for the whole 90 minutes. I was definitely the first person to leave once we were done and practically ran over the teacher on the way up the stairs to the locker room so I could get more cold water. They gave us pineapple after the class which was juicy and delicious. I love that you get fruit or a popsicle after the class is done because it really replenishes you.

Moral of the story, never go to Bikram if you’re hungover. Drinking dehydrates you anyways and you need to be super hydrated since you sweat so much in the 105 degree room. Both the other times I did it I was loving the whole series and this time it was just so hard to even stay in the room and not throw up. 😦 Lesson learned.

When I got home, I wanted something cold and filling, so I made a Green Monster.

Not the greenest monster I’ve ever made but it sure was delicious.

My GM had:

  • 1/2 frozen banana (all i had left!)
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • frozen strawberries, pineapple, and honeydew (end of that 6 pound bag from Costco!)
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder
  • last packet of Amazing Grass
  • 2 big handfuls of spinach

I haven’t had a GM in a few days so it really hit the spot. I keep drinking lots of water and will continue to throughout the day. I’m going to Bikram again tomorrow, so will not be drinking today even a sip! 🙂 I have to go grocery shopping and clean my apartment and maybe take a nap since I was up so early. It’s gorgeous outside, 90 degrees and sunny, so I’d like to spend some time outside, too!

I’ll be back!

4 Responses

  1. the first time I had sake with my friend, his reaction was “tastes like carbs.” It just doesn’t do anything for me
    Katherine

  2. oh gosh.. yea i see what u mean- baaaaddd combo. thats such a nice thing for the studio to give pineapple etc. to replenish! smart thinking 🙂 … i have such a queasy stomach i would def either pass out, throw up, or both. glad u were okay tho and were able to quickly rehydrate in time. this is a good warning.. moral of the story kids? NO BIKRAM WHEN HUNGOVER! .. hmm what if u do bikram when ur drunk tho.. lol that could get ugly haha. xoxo ❤

  3. Haha, you were totally that person in class who nobody wants to sit by because you smell like booze.

  4. Sorry you were hurting! The sushi looks yummy, though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

