• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Biking and Bikram

Weekends go by so fast, don’t they? I can’t believe it’s Sunday night already! This weekend has been very relaxing and enjoyable so I’m especially sad to see it come to an end, though I don’t think I’m ever thrilled when Monday morning rolls around…

I ended up going for a bike ride today even though I didn’t get to put my new seat on. We didn’t have an Allen wrench so couldn’t get the old seat off, but I was already decked out in my bike gear so I figured why not. I ended up doing 8 miles in just under 36 minutes, which means I’m getting faster! It used to take me 40 minutes to do the same ride, and I’m definitely feeling a bit more confident on the bike each time I ride. I think just testing out the gears and finding the ones I’m comfortable with for hills has been what’s helped me improve my speed.

After my bike ride I had a banana:

I didn’t want to eat anything too heavy because Bikram was in less than 2 hours and the last thing on Earth you want to feel during Bikram is full. I did drink a TON of water after my bike ride. It was about 90 degrees outside so I was sweating and got really thirsty. I made my water more fun to drink by adding some frozen Very Cherry blend from Trader Joe’s instead of ice.

It’s a mix of cherries, blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries and made me feel so fancy while drinking it. šŸ™‚

Bikram went SO much better today than yesterday. I really enjoyed myself and can already notice improvements in my abilities to do the different postures. It’s amazing to me just how much you sweat during the class though because your clothes are seriously so wet that you could wring them out after. Everyone always told me that before I ever tried it, but I never really “got it” until I tried it and its crazy. Very cleansing, though.

After Bikram I was starving, and luckily had a PURE Bar in my bag that I munched on during the drive home.

Love these things. I also had a piece of the whole wheat potato bread with some Peanut Butter and Crofters when I got home but ate it too quickly to take a picture. Oops.

After that I had to run a few errands, and then decided to stop at this Kabob place by my apartment that I’ve never tried. There was an awesome Afgan Kabob restaurant by my old apartment that we used to eat about once a week and loved, so I figured I should give this one a shot. Unfortunately they don’t have any veggie/shrimp/fish kabobs, but they did a vegetarian plate with their two veggie sides, rice, and salad, which is what I ordered.

Though it doesn’t look that pretty, it was really delicious. The two veggies were chickpeas and spinach with potatoes. There was also some unpictured bread that came with it and I ate everything on my plate and the bread. The other kabob place had veggie kabobs with tomatoes, onions, and peppers, and also had about 10 different vegetarian sides to choose from to go with your dish. They also had 3 different kinds of rice, fresh hummus, and a bunch of different sauces. I like having options, but this new kabob place is just so close to my apartment that it’ll have to do in a pinch.

I’m off to savor the last few minutes of the weekend but plan to get to bed early tonight. Be back tomorrow!

2 Responses

  1. sometimes the messiest meals are the most delicious!

    LOVE your nail polish btw!!!

    so glad to hear bikram is progressing nicely and that it went better this time ā¤ xoxo

  2. Weekends do go by WAY too fast. That is so funny-I passed Afghan Kabob this weekend-I wonder if it was the same one you went to. I must find Bikram in my area. I can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

