• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Sunday Brunch

I loooove Sundays. It’s the one day my boyfriend and I get to spend fully together (except he has to work today) and I feel like I always make better use of it than Saturdays. I don’t have too much on the agenda for today besides Bikram at 4 and possibly a bike ride before that. I got a new bike seat that’s gel top and a lot wider than my other seat so I want to test it out and might take it for a short ride soon.

Another thing I love about Sundays is brunch and today we decided to do brunch at home. The star of it was the Sweet Potato Hash. We started by adding some chopped sweet potatoes and red onions to a wok with a little canola oil.

That cooked for about 10 minutes until the potatoes and onions were soft and getting browned. Then, we added chopped frozen tricolored peppers, frozen organic sweet kernel corn, and sausage style crumbles and continued to cook it in the wok for another 10 minutes.

With my hash I had one poached egg (poached in simmering water with 1 tbsp white vinegar) and a slice of whole wheat potato bread, which made for a delicious Sunday brunch.

I just re-discovered this whole wheat potato bread yesterday at the grocery store. I like my bread to be made with whole grains, have under 100 calories per slice and some fiber, and most importantly taste delicious. This bread has 70 calories a slice and is made with whole grain flour. Because its potato bread, its fluffy and delicious tasting and went so well with breakfast! I hadn’t had a poached egg in ages and had been craving one, so this really hit the spot. And sweet potato hash?? Yes, please! It was so good that my boyfriend is thinking about putting it on the brunch menu at his restaurants. 🙂

I also had two cups of french press coffee with frothed almond milk.

I wasn’t sure how the almond milk would work with frothing and it didn’t froth as well as regular skim milk, but still was pretty good! I couldn’t believe how heating up the almond milk really brought out the nuttiness of the milk. I like almond milk, but never really think it tastes or smells like almonds, but after I heated it up for 30 seconds before frothing it, it smelled so strongly of almonds. It went really well in my coffee and gave it a nice nutty flavor.

OK I’m off to enjoy the rest of my Sunday. I’ll be back after Bikram. Hope your weekend is good!

12 Responses

  1. I am so excited about making that hash. I love sweet potatoes and that looks so good. I am thinking about making a big batch and then freezing it for the mornings.

    • That sounds like a fabulous idea. I love having fun breakfasts like this but there’s never enough time during the week before work!

  2. how do you get your almond milk to froth? I always find it too watery. pressed coffee is delicious!
    (PS: your brunch looks professional)
    Katherine

    • I just heated the almond milk up for 30 seconds in the microwave and then used a hand frother. It didn’t froth as well as regular milk but it turned out pretty good! Even if you can’t get it to froth well, I suggest heating up the milk before pouring it in your coffee because the almond flavor really comes out when you heat the milk up and is awesome in coffee! Today was my first time ever trying it.

  3. Your sweet potato hash looks great! I will definitely need to make that soon!!! Great idea!
    This may be a silly question, but I’m not really a cook, so I’ll ask it anyways:) Did you chop those sweet potatoes by hand or do you have some special tool that chops them? Silly question, I know, but I’m always looking for the quickest and easiest way to make my meals, that of course doesn’t compromise nutrition and taste:)

    • Those were chopped by hand with a special tool, my boyfriend. 😉 He’s a chef but I totally understand where you’re coming from. I was thinking about trying to find frozen chopped sweet potatoes, but I don’t know if there’s such a thing. He tried to use a mandolin (sp?) at first, but it wasnt cutting through the potatoes well, so then he went to the knife. You could always do a rough chop on them so it takes less time – which is what I’ll do when making them again.

  4. What a wonderful looking brunch 🙂 Brunch is certainly one of my favourite things about Sundays too!!!

  5. gosh what a great way to start the day-love the hash-yum! hope bikram was better fro you today. my bike ride was hard! i felt like i could not get my legs going at all. hope you like your new bike seat too 🙂

  6. Oh my gosh Beth – that looks better than anything you could buy out! Your poached eggs look awesome – and YAY for whole wheat potato bread!!! I’ve been rocking that too 🙂

  7. Sounds like you make the most of your Sundays! Sundays are usually cleaning/laundry/tv watching day for me.

  8. That brunch looks fabulous and so gourmet!

Leave a Reply

