• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Community Book Room

Whew what a day! I am feeling so exhausted I can barely keep my eyes open – it’s going to be an early night! I don’t even know if I’ll make it through Nurse Jackie… one of my favorite shows right now, so that says something!

One of the reasons I’m so tired is because I stayed up too late last night because I’ve was reading this book. There is a community book room in my apartment complex and it is such an awesome thing to have. Basically, its a room on the lobby level full of books. You can go in there any time you’re looking for a new read and take it with you. I always put a lot of good books in there when I’m done reading, and sometimes find some really great books I never would have discovered otherwise. The book I’m currently reading was in there and it says on the front, “Highly recommended for fans of authors like Jodi Picoult and Jacequelyn Michard.” It had me right there – Jodi Picoult is one of my favorite authors. I’ve read almost all of her novels and loved each one. This book is a little sad but its the kind you read where you cannot put it down. I’ve been reading it on the metro to/from work and I’ve definitely missed my stop more than once! 🙂

My afternoon snack today was a Pineapple Chobani with the last of the Fiber One in my desk.

I had it around 4pm and it held me over really well. I never would have tried the 2% yogurt had Chobani not sent me the samples, and I’m so glad I did. It has the same number of WW Points as the nonfat kinds (3 pts) but keeps me full for a lot longer.

After work, I took the 6pm Bikram tonight. It was hard! It’s day 3 in a row for me and since it was so humid outside, the class itself was really hot and sweaty, even more than normal. Not to mention, 6pm is the time of choice for a lot of people who go after work, so it was packed. People were practically on top of each other, and when you’re that sweaty, the last thing you want is someone else who’s equally sweaty touching you! I can definitely tell that I’m getting better at the postures and really enjoy it, but tomorrow I’m going to take the day off from it.

When I got home, I was starving and I opened my fridge and saw the leftover pizza from Saturday night. I heated it up for 45 seconds and devoured it.

Two sliced of wild mushroom pizza with 4 types of cheese… yum! It was delish. After my pizza, I was craving some fruit, so I had three mandarins.

And then as I sat down to write this I realized I wanted something else, so I had a huge banana.

I had to take a bite before I could snap a pic. 😉

I’m off to relax and hopefully get to bed early tonight.

Be back tomorrow!

13 Responses

  1. I am officially dying to try pineapple Chobani! And thanks for the OIAJ encouragement 🙂

  2. Thank you for the comments, I love them and knowing someone reads my blog. Thanks for the feedback.

    I read “My Sister’s Keeper” and loved it, but I was disappointed with the movie, but I haven’t read her other stuff yet.

    That Pizza looks good, I love mushrooms on my pizza; ryan doesn’t like them so much, so I don’t get it often.

  3. Pizza is a favorite of mine but I always have trouble counting pts. How many did you count for your dinner? That book looks great! thanks for sharing.

    • Yeah it’s really tough to count points when you don’t make it at home because you have no clue what/how much they put in it. To be honest I don’t really count points much lately, but I would guess the two pieces were 7-8 combined (3.5-4pts each). The pizza was small to start (I’d say 12″) and I had 1/3 of it today (2/3 on Saturday evening) but there was lots of cheese. It was so good. Now I want more! 🙂

  4. haha this morning i took a bite of my banana first before taking a pic.. i mean how can u peel one and not have it say “bite me” lol

    have a good sleep tonight.. u ened lotsa rest after today zzzz xoxo ❤

  5. So jealous of your community book room! I hit the library about once a week, but I haven’t been in awhile and it’s killing me that I have nothing to read!

  6. A community book room is an awesome idea! And you just reminded me how overdue my books are from the library… ugh. Another thing to put on the list of things to not procrastinate anymore…

  7. that book sounds great and so does day 3 of bikram-wow that is impressive beth!
    happy tuesday!

  8. the community room book scenario is such a nice idea!!

    i really need to try that chobani, i keep forgetting when i’m at the market. i need to write it down.

    i can defnitely identify with the overcrowding in class being tough. being really sweaty and on top of one another is gross. way to get through it and be improving too!

    hope you got some rest!

  9. That book sounds really good! I also love Jodi Picoult…I haven’t read all of her books but I read four of them and they all kind of stuck with me afterwards. I am envious of your community book room. I have piles of books that I have already read, I would love to trade up for new ones.
    Hope you had a good sleep!

  10. […] Almond Butter + Crofters Europe on Whole Wheat Potato Bread with a glass of Almond Milk. Then I went and got a pedicure since the pool opens this weekend, plus my eyebrows done. It was fun and while getting my toes done, I finished reading Harvesting the Heart by Jodi Picoult. This book was pretty slow to start and took me a while to get into, but then it got really good and I couldn’t put it down about half way through. She’s one of my favorite authors and I’d never even heard of this book, but I found it in my Community Book Room. […]

Leave a Reply

