• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Manic Monday

Hey! I am completely swamped at work right now, which is actually great because I seriously cannot believe it’s almost 3pm! The day is flying by because its been nonstop, but that works for me. I have Bikram at 6pm tonight with a few friends, one of which is trying it for her first time! The reason I’ve been going so much is because I have a week unlimited that expires on Friday, so I want to take advantage of it as much as I can since its so expensive to go when you pay full price. I’m noticing improvements in my flexibility and my balance already, and I’ve only been 4 times! I can’t wait to see how my body changes as I continue to improve.

I did have time to break for lunch and have a delicious salad.

This salad had:

  • 3 cups arugula from the Farmer’s Market
  • 1 chopped Fuji apple, also from the Farmer’s Market
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1 oz light feta from Trader Joe’s
  • 2 slices Martin’s whole wheat potato bread, overly toasted

I love it when there are as many toppings as base in the salad so that you’re never down to just greens. Even though this bread looks pretty dark, it was just over toasted, not burnt. It still tasted delicious and I can’t get over how good the texture of that bread is for the impressive nutritionals!

I also had a side of baby carrots.

Crunchy and added nice color to my lunch. I never loved baby carrots until recently, but now I can’t seem to get enough of them. I think I go through phases with veggies and these are in for now. 🙂

Hope your Monday is good. Back to the grind for me!

4 Responses

  1. You know, I’d never thought of combining garbanzo beans with apple, but now that you mention it, I bet that’s good.

  2. it might be a really weird experience to see ur friend try bikram for the first time only because now ur so used to it that seeing a newbie might make u think about ur progress uno what i mean?

    3pm must be a universal time of joy.. for work.. for school.. right at 3pm everyone says “FREEDOM!”

    ❤

  3. I love adding feta to salads!!!!

  4. I love apples in salads–yet I never remember to add them!

Leave a Reply

