• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Lettuce Wraps

Hey! Today was one of the busiest days at work that I’ve had in a loooong time. I decided against taking a picture of my lunch because it was a business lunch. Not gonna lie though, it felt a little weird not to take a picture. When I first started the blog, I felt weird taking pictures and kept forgetting, and now it feels like somethings missing if I don’t! We ended up going to Old Ebbitt Grill and there were 5 of us total. We got an order of fried calamari to share to start and I had one piece of sourdough bread with real butter. So good! For my main course, I ordered the Salmon Nicoise Salad (no dressing). It was a piece of seared salmon on top of a bed of greens with kalamata olives, boiled potatoes, a hard boiled egg, green beens, chopped tomatoes, and red onions. So good, and I ate the entire thing.

For an afternoon snack, a bunch of coworkers and I headed over to Yogen Fruz. Today I changed it up and got the nonfat plain mixed with frozen cherries. I had it topped with dark chocolate shavings…

It was sooo good. I love how this place will stir in whatever frozen fruit or flavor you want to make the yogurt actually change flavors. Mmmm.

The greatest part of being so busy at work is that the days have been FLYING by. When 5 o’clock came I could honestly barely believe it. Once I stepped outside, it was still SO nice out. I think it was still around 80 degrees and sunny, but not humid at all. That’s rare for DC! I decided to take the night off completely from working out just to give my body a break. Three days of Bikram in a row plus an 8 mile bike ride thrown in there called for a day off.

My boyfriend had the night off too, so we ran to heaven Whole Foods to pick up a few things and got ingredients for Lettuce Wraps! The perfect warm weather dinner in my opinion. 🙂

I marinated some tofu right in the container with fish sauce, soy sauce, and sweet chili sauce for about 30  minutes while I put the rest of the groceries away and unloaded the dishwasher.

I also boiled the rice noodles, which only took 2 minutes and then ran them under cold water to get them cold. The boyfriend was in charge of everything else, including cooking the tofu in the wok after it had marinated. Here was the spread:

The tofu, chicken thighs in a similar marinade (for him), mango, rice noodles, bean sprouts, pickled kale and red onions (!!!), sliced red onions and cilantro, and organic green leaf lettuce. I put together 4 lettuce wraps and piled them high with bean sprouts, rice noodles, pickled onions, mango, and the marinated tofu.

They were sooooo good, but definitely a little messy.

Everything was so fresh and the textures, flavors, and colors worked perfectly together. The tofu was so flavorful from sitting in the marinade for longer than I usually let it – I have to work on my patience and give the tofu time to soak up the marinade more often! I love lettuce wraps and these were perfect.

I’m off to watch a movie and relax – be back tomorrow!

9 Responses

  1. Those look so yummy. I love lettuce wraps, haven’t had them in a while but I think I might have to put them on next weeks menu.

  2. love messy finger foods. such beautiful colors in ur food today huh! love how they can let u put any fruit flav in ur froyo. thats so awesome!! yea cherry is amazing.. but the fact that u added chocolate shavings to it is jaw dropping. perfect! xoxo ❤

  3. I’ve also started to get over my fear of taking pictures of food on a regular basis. I don’t photograph everything, but it’s still funny to try and look natural while holding a photo shoot with my lunch…

  4. what a yummy day you had!
    we were just in dc a few weeks ago for spring break. wish we would have seen yogen fruz!

  5. next time try boston lettuce. it holds things better.

    • Yeah I’ve done it with different types of lettuce and romaine before, but that was actually the best looking lettuce Whole Foods had when we went last time! They were still delicious though 🙂

  6. I think Arlington needs a good froyo place – I LOVE Mr. Yogato downtown – but haven’t found an equiviliant on this side of the bridge!

    I am really thinking I need to jump on board and give the chia seeds a try too!

  7. Those look really good! I love reading your blog, it inspires me to eat healthier.

Leave a Reply

