• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Chi Chi Chi Chia

Everyone remembers that jingle from the Chia Pet commercials, right? I can never get it out of my head any time I see the word Chia.. and recently I’ve seen it a lot in the blogsphere because Chia Seeds are everywhere! I’d never tried them for myself, but I like new things and I’ve heard they are really good for you, so I did a little research.

Here’s what I found. Chia seeds come from the Salvia Hispanica plant, which is a plant that grows in the desert and very liberally in southern Mexico.  Some of the health benefits associated with Chia Seeds are:

  1. Rich in Omega-3 Fatty Acids
  2. High in fiber
  3. Also a source of calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, manganese, copper, iron, molybdenum, niacin, and zinc.
  4. Don’t have to be ground for your body to absorb their nutrients (like with flax seeds)
  5. When added to water, it forms a gel-like substance. This means a similar process happens in our stomach, meaning we stay fuller for longer after eating them.
  6. Helps your body stay hydrated because they absorb 10x their weight in water.
  7. Stabilizes your blood sugar because it slows the process of converting carbs into sugars (great for Diabetics)
  8. Have been found to lower blood pressure
  9. Can help with weight loss because they keep you fuller longer so you’ll eat less, and they lower your caloric intake when eaten with meals.

So, with all these benefits, I couldn’t wait to give them a try. You can put them into or on top of pretty much anything, so today I made some overnight oats with chia seeds.

Into the mix went:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1/2 container of Plain 0% Chobani
  • 1/3 cup light soy milk
  • Toppings: Dried strawberries and dried unsweetened coconut flakes

I am sooo full after this bowl! I think I’m going to start using 1/3 cup of oats instead of 1/2 cup because the chia seeds and the protein powder together in this have left me stuffed! Aren’t these dried strawberries so cute?

They have added sugar which I didn’t realize until after I got them but they are sooo tasty, and a little goes a long way. I ordered the dried strawberries, coconut flakes, and chia seeds from NutsOnline. They had really reasonable prices and the delivery was fast – I ordered Friday and it came yesterday. I’d definitely order from them again, but I got huge bags of everything so I shouldn’t need to for a while! 😉

Happy Hump Day!

17 Responses

  1. I have been wondering why I have been seeing chia seeds in so many bowls of oatmeal. Now I know, thanks for the info!

  2. What do the chia seeds taste like?

  3. I also use chia seeds after my runs for their natural anti-inflammatory properties! A big tbsp of chia seeds and ground flaxseeds!

    I miss my oats. Need to get some more soy milk, STAT!

  4. i have a problem with how much they cost and how they make things kinda gelatin like…..
    happy wednesday!

    • you know they’re only 6.99 a pound at nutsonline.com! They are the biggest supplier of them which is why they are so much cheaper there.

  5. Those are dried strawberries? Hmm I’ve never ACTUALLY seen dried strawberries! very cute! 🙂

  6. I’ve seen the chia seeds around too. I haven’t tried them yet, but I really don’t eat oatmeal, and it seems to be the item that gets topped with it the most.
    I’m interested to know if you felt like it kept you full longer!

  7. How are the strawberries? Are they super chewy?

    • They taste like candy to me… less chewy than Swedish fish, but more than a lot of dried fruits… luckily I only bought a few in because I could see myself grazing on them alll day.

  8. when i first made chia cereal i made the rookie mistake of making too much.. i was thiking that there was no way a little porridge could fill me up but isnt it amazing how filling a little is!!! im thinking its a great money save too then lol haha ❤

  9. I too have seen a lot about chia seeds but never tried them! I use flax seed a lot though

  10. Ohhh, those dried strawberries are adorable! I want some!

  11. OMG you are right. I do love those dried strawberries. Cutest ever.

  12. How do you make your pickled onions? They always look so yummy! I buy them on a salad bar in my town (Bloomington, IN) but they seem WAYYY overpriced and I would like to make my own.

  13. […] wrote a whole post about the benefits of chia seeds, but bottom line – they are very good for you. I love that they absorb liquid and add an […]

Leave a Reply

