• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Unwrapped Lettuce Wraps

Hey! Those Chia Seeds seriously kept me full until after 1pm.. unheard of. I’m excited to experiment with them in different ways because there are a ton of ideas all over the place!

For lunch today, I used leftovers from last night’s lettuce wraps to make a salad.

Onto my plate went:

  • torn organic green leaf lettuce
  • bean sprouts
  • 1/2 cup rice noodles
  • mango chunks
  • marinated tofu
  • pickled red onions for garnish

There was so much going on in this salad and the flavors were awesome. It was easier to eat than the wraps last night because the lettuce didn’t work well to hold everything together.. so throwing it all together and diving in with a fork worked well. With the salad, I had some red grapes (on sale at Whole Foods!)

And a serving of Dr. Krackers Seedlander Snackers.

I had commented on Kath’s blog about how I had never tried these crackers before but they look so good, so someone from Dr. Kracker reached out to me and asked if I’d like to sample some. They sent me a box with all the flavors, so I’m really excited to make my way through them. According to the Dr. Kracker website, “Millet-crunchy and molasses-sweet, our Seedlander Kracker is baked with our specially milled, 100% whole grain organic spelt flour, combined with organic pumpkin seeds, millet, sesame, flax, and poppy seeds. Its sturdy texture and nutty, slightly sweet flavor make it the perfect cracker for cheese and fruit plates and creamy dips and spreads.”

As you can see from looking at these up close, they are LOADED with different kinds of seeds. They are very crunchy – in fact, I was a little taken aback by how hard they were at first – but once I got used to them, I was in love! They taste so good, and have just a hint of sweetness. They went great with my sandwich and I’m looking forward to figuring out new ways to use them and try the other flavors!

As I was eating my lunch, I noticed that I ate my whole salad first, then moved onto the crackers, and then finished with the grapes. I never really noticed before that I finish one thing before moving onto the next.. strange!

Question for today: Do you eat a little bit of everything in your meal and finish it all together, or do you finish one item at a time (like I do apparently!) when you’re eating?

Happy Cinco de Mayo! Anyone have any fun plans?

10 Responses

  1. i love how its Dr.Kraker.. the cracker doctor hehe. that salad is simply gorgeous.. and im amazed to hear u were full for that long! wow such magic little seeds!

    • i told my friend it was Dr. Kracker with a “k” so she wrote Doktor Cracker. I’m not sure which one I like better!

  2. I eat in circles – one or two bites of each thing, round and round and round. Plus I always save some extra of my favorite item for the coveted “last bite”. My husband used to make fun of me for it, but now he saves for his “last bite” too!

    Those crackers do look delicious!

  3. Your salad looks delicious and the crackers sound like they have enough bulk to keep you full. Nice!

  4. Last nights dinner looked AMAZING! I’m so jealous your bf is a chef. My poor boyfriend just doesn’t understand my love of food.

    To answer you question I like to eat everything together to combine all the flavors.

  5. I love the idea of putting mango with tofu on that salad! I bet it was delicious.

  6. I like to eat everything separately and finish one thing first before moving on to the other.

    I found some Dr. Kracker’s at TJ Maxx the other day, they’re pretty good, totally forgot I still had them.

  7. I think I eat a little of everything until it’s all gone at about the same time… it’s a good question- you made me think for a minute!

  8. I eat one thing at a time! Isn’t that weird? Well. I take that back – some meals are meant to be mixed together; like… mashed potatoes & peas; and an old southern favorite of mine: fried squash, onions, green beans, tomatoes, all mixed together! Yum!

  9. Hey girlie here’s the recipe I followed for the homemade granola bars (http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2010/02/overnight-vanilla-protein-oats-no-bake.html).

    Seriously though, the possibilities are endless with these things! I didn’t have everything on Averie’s ingredients list, but I did with what I had, and added a few extras in. đŸ™‚ Enjoy! There’s fantaaastical.

    & that huge salad looks so delicious! So fresh and crisp looking!

Leave a Reply

