• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Baked Tempeh

Happy Friday Eve! πŸ™‚ My new favorite way to look at Thursday nights. Today has been a really good day, though nothing terribly exciting happened. The highlight (besides lunch) was probably that Farmer’s Market right by my office opened up today, which is so convenient for me. I literally have to walk through it to get to the metro, whereas the one I’ve been going the last few weeks is about a 20 minute walk from my office.

Here’s what I picked up from the Farmer’s Market.

I got:

  • a dozen farm fresh eggs
  • 3 parsnips
  • arugula flowers
  • spring onions
  • 1/2 log goat cheese
  • one multigrain roll

I did really well and got everything for under $20. I’d never heard of arugula flowers, but they basically grow out of the top of the stalks of arugula and have the same peppery taste but are also pretty to look at. The vendor had some out to try and I thought they were so tasty that I decided to buy some. I also haven’t had farm fresh eggs since… I can’t even remember the last time. I can’t wait to try them! I didn’t want to get too much stuff because I’m going away this weekend for Mother’s Day, but I think I did well with my choices.

After getting home from the market, I went on a long bike ride after work and it felt so good! I did 16 miles that took me around 1 hour 15 minutes, which is a 13 mile/hour average. I’m happy with that pace because the wind was blowing hard against me during the first half of the ride and then magically the wind disappeared on my way home when I was hoping it would push me along. The Garmin says I burned 781 calories on the ride, but I recently found out that it calculates your calories burned not by heart rate, but instead by age, activity and pace. I was a little disappointed about that because that means its a lot less accurate than I was thinking.

For an afternoon snack, I had a bowl of fruit around 4pm.

I just brought in the grapes, but when I went back to get them there was leftover food from a meeting, so I took advantage of the starfruit and kiwis that were on the platter. Yum!

Pre bikeride, I had the roll from the Farmer’s Market. I put almond butter on half, and Crofter’s Asia on the other half.

This was SO good. The bread was really fresh so the outside was crispy and the inside soft. And with almond butter and superfruit spread? Delicious.

After my bikeride, I was huuuungry. I decided to do some roasted veggies and the other half of the block of tempeh I opened last week. For the veggies, I took one large parsnip and one sweet potato and peeled them and cut them into chunks. I sprayed nonstick spray on the pan and then spread them in a single layer.

I sprinkled them with salt and pepper, and then threw them into the 400 degree oven. I roasted them for 2o minutes, and then flipped them over and roasted them for another 20.

For the tempeh, I spread some of this minced ginger on each side:

And also added some rice wine vinegar, ponzu sauce (citrus soy sauce), and salt and pepper.

I baked the tempeh at 400 for 15 minutes on each side and it came out perfectly.

I served the baked tempeh with half of the potatoes and parsnips.

Sort of random but it was exactly what I was craving. Everything turned out perfectly and I think this might have been my first time ever having baked tempeh! It’s flavor was delicious with the ginger, rice wine vinegar, and soy, whereas raw it didn’t have too much flavor, but I still liked the texture.

I’m off to catch up on the Biggest Loser and then get to bed. Have a good night!!

8 Responses

  1. Arugula flowers?! I’ve never heard of them either but they look gorgeous. I’m curious to see how you end up using them!

  2. So I’ve been blog stalking you for awhile. I found you off of W.W. Hope you don’t mind! πŸ˜‰

    Anyway, my hubby just bought me a Garmin 305 for my birthday. After trying to get the calories burned option to work while indoors to no avail, I googled the monitor. I was SO disappointed to learn that it based the calories burned from pace/speed instead of heartrate! That means I can’t use it indoors because the GPS doesn’t work inside. Major bummer! Fortunately, my hubby is an outdoor runner so he’s going to keep it while I get a Polar. I loved the GPS option but I really wanted it for the calories burned so it won’t work for me at all.

    • Hey April! Glad to know you’ve been stalking me πŸ˜‰ really though!

      I know I am SO bummed about the Garmin! I like to use it for distance and pace since I do a lot of running and biking outside, but I thought I was also going to find out the calories burned. Major downer for such an expensive gadget!! The other annoying thing is that, because I live in DC, it takes 5-10 minutes to locate the satellites, so sometimes I get outside and have to wait for a while before I start, or else start without the mileage/timing going. It’s a no win situation!

  3. Yummm baked tempeh, that looks tasty! I’ve never tried it, but I’m seeing it somewhat often nowadays. If only I could convince my husband to let me buy it…. Maybe if I show him your plate he’d crave it too!! Have a great Friday!!

  4. Oh seeing your market goodies makes me even more excited for our farmers market on saturday!

  5. Farmer’s market finds are the best. I love goat cheese and parnips. I think Im hitting up a new farmer’s market tomorrow. Hopefully I’ll find something new and amazing!

  6. Parsnips, parsnips, parsnips! Oh, how I love them!

  7. I love Starfruit! It’s such a unique flavor.

Leave a Reply

