• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Delicious Morning

Good Morning! I’m happy to report that I actually did go to bed around 11pm last night and slept until a few minutes after 8. The sleeping until after 8 was unintentional, but I was proud of getting myself in bed early and clearly I needed the sleep. I’m feeling really refreshed and well rested today which is definitely a good way to approach the day. Plus, its Thursday, which means tomorrow is Friday aka start of the weekend!

Today’s breakfast was not too shabby, either. I threw together ingredients for one of Gina’s breakfast cookies last night and it turned out fabulous.

Into the mix went:

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 2 tbsp light soy milk

What made this breakfast cookie so special was the mix-ins!

  • 1 tbsp unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1 tbsp dark chocolate chunks
  • 5 dried strawberries, rough chopped

Presenting… The Chocolate Coconut Breakfast Cookie with Strawberries!

Ohhhh man was this good. I actually leave it in the fridge uncovered overnight because I think it dries it out a bit more and makes it more cookie like. I could pick pieces of this off the plate rather than having to spoon it up (obviously because I’m classy like that ;)). I looove this combo. Plus, if the chia seeds work the same as they did yesterday, I will be full for hours.

I also made an iced green tea to have with my breakfast cookie.

This is just as good as the ones at Starbucks and so much cheaper. I just did 2 green tea bags in a cup of hot water for 5 minutes, and then poured it over ice. Such a nice pick-me-up in the morning!

We have a team lunch today at Teaism because its our interns last day! Should be fun and this time I don’t have to shy away from snapping some pictures.

Have an awesome Tuesday!!

13 Responses

  1. I’ve had “prep a breakfast cookie” on my to-do list for the past 2 weeks and I still haven’t gotten around to it. Maybe today will be the day. Yours sure looks delicious 🙂

    • They really were – – just do it!! I actually made one the morning of a few weeks ago and let it sit for about an hour and it was really good, so thats always an option, too!

  2. I would LOVE to go to bed that early. I tend to stay up tiill 1 for no reason sometimes. Such a good idea with the homemade tea. I spend so much money on tea!

  3. You were so excited about it being Thursday and then you signed off your blog with a Tuesday…..I hope you have a good Thursday.
    BTW – that cookie looks great, I really need to try something like it!

  4. Teaism is my favorite place in DC. SO JEALOUS!!!!

  5. That’s one of the prettiest breakfast cookies I’ve seen!

  6. i love that cookie!!! i need to make something like this soon! im bookmarking for sure. especially since u sold me with tthe choc chunks!

  7. I can’t believe that I have never made a breakfast cookie! And with my love of cookies, man I need to get on this ASAP!

  8. That’s the best looking breakfast cookie I’ve seen yet!

    That tea place looks amazing. I can’t wait to get back to D.C. soon!

  9. I need to get some chia seeds! I have really been in to the iced tea lately too. I had an iced green tea at Starbucks this weekend. It was so tasty! I agree, it is so much cheaper at home!

  10. I went through a breakfast cookie phase- they’re sooooo addicting! A perfect little touch of sweetness in the morning! 🙂

  11. Gosh that breakfast cookie looks fantasic! You may just get me to making one of them – I see ’em all over blog land and they seem so perfect!

Leave a Reply

