• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Shrimp Ochazuke

I just got back from an awesome team lunch with work! Our department is pretty small so there’s only 7 of us, and everyone is pretty young and cool so we all get along quite well. We went to Teaism today and I hadn’t been there in ages. It’s a great little place with 3 locations around DC, and one of them happens to be just a few blocks from my office. Judging by the name, I’m sure you could venture to guess that they have tons of different kinds of hot tea, but they also have a retail area where they sell tea pots, tea sets, and of course, tea. It gets super busy during lunch so I couldn’t look that much into it, but I’d love to get a fancy tea pot and some nice loose teas.

As we were waiting in line, someone walked by me with their lunch and I saw it and knew I had to have it. Shrimp Ochazuke which was listed on the menu as a brown rice and tea soup, withΒ shrimp, veggies, wasabi & sencha green tea. Your guess is as good as mine on how to pronounce that one (mine was acha-zu-key). πŸ˜‰ Because we all ordered together, there was a little confusion over the drinks. I asked if they had unsweetened iced green tea, but they said they only had very lightly sweetened iced green tea, or hot green tea. So when I sat down to eat, I realized they had given me a pot of hot tea which I was fine with. I went and asked for a glass of ice and just iced it. Only after coming back to my office and looking at the menu online did I realize that tea was actually meant to be poured over my dish to make it into the soup that the menu described… better luck next time. πŸ™‚

Even though I didn’t eat it how you were supposed to, it was delicious. (See that tea pot to the back left of the bowl? Yeah, that was the “broth”… oops!) It was incredibly flavorful and there was seaweed and some other spices sprinkled on top that made the whole dish pop. Underneath all the veggies was a scoop of brown rice, so the bowl not only tasted good, but it was filling, too. I’m looking forward to going back and eating it the right way, though my way was pretty darn good, too.

It’s a gorgeous day today, so I can’t wait for 5pm so I can go spend some time outside!

11 Responses

  1. That looks delicious! Next time I’m working in the neighborhood of a Teaism I must go get that!

  2. I looooove this! Well, I’ve only had the salmon, but it was SO good. I first saw it at a work lunch after seeing someone else get it and being totally fascinated by them pouring TEA on their fish. I kept thinking, “Is she doing this on purpose?!?” The next time we went there, I got a thorough lesson in the art of Ochazuke eating. We must go to teaism together sometime. πŸ™‚

    • Definitely!! Are there any out by you? I thought they were just in DC proper but I could be wrong! Makes sense I would ice and drink the broth, eh? πŸ™‚

      • No, one of our execs has an office in DC. Whenever we’re out there for a meeting, we go to Teaism. Her office is 7th and..D, maybe? I can’t remember for sure, but the Teaism is right up the street. I’ve never driven it so I don’t really pay attention. πŸ™‚

  3. lol iced tea to hot tea haha.. not quite but yea.. guess it works huh!

    hmm poured over ur meal.. yea i wouldnt have thought that at all either. but yum food looks good!! ❀ happy lunching πŸ™‚

  4. That looks awesome! I LOVE tea so I’m pretty sure I would enjoy that place πŸ™‚

  5. It looks delicious and so fresh! I probably would have been confused too. πŸ™‚

  6. Bah – too bad I am allergic to shrimp, cuz this looks yummy!

  7. ok. now that looks yummy! I don’t think they have a Teaism here in Ga?? Worth finding out…I want some! πŸ˜‰

    • ahh unfortunately I think they’re just in the DC area, but hopefully you have something similar in your area!!

  8. Whoa. I never would have thought of using tea as broth, but I think that that might be an *ingenious* idea. I’m going to try that at home!

Leave a Reply

