• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Eggs Florentine with Creamy Avocado Sauce

Heyyyy! I am swaaaaamped at work but it’s Friday so all is good! I had so much trouble falling asleep last night so I didn’t get to bed until after 1am! That is super late for me. Luckily I didn’t have too much trouble getting up this morning, but I am dragging. I got a grande Americano (3 shots espresso) so hopefully that will help! 😉

Breakfast today was really incredible. I wanted to try those farm fresh eggs I got yesterday at the Farmer’s Market.

I love how they are all slightly different sizes and I really couldn’t wait to taste them. One of my all time favorite breakfast/brunches is Eggs Benedict, but that can be extremely calorie dense with the hollandaise sauce. Since I stopped eating meat, I decided to make a version of Eggs Florentine (same concept but over sautéed spinach instead of ham), but you could easily sub in canadian bacon, lump crab meat (MY FAVORITE), or anything else your heart desires. I wanted to recreate something just as delicious, but healthier and this morning I did just that!

For the Creamy Avocado Sauce, I mixed in:

  • 1/2 container 0% Chobani plain yogurt
  • 1/3 avocado, mashed
  • generous squirt grainy mustard
  • juice of one lime (would have used lemon but didn’t have any!)
  • salt

I tasted the sauce and it was really good! It kind of tasted like the yolk of a deviled egg if that makes sense, and was super creamy and flavorful.

I poached two eggs (see here for my tricks to the perfect poached egg), sautéed some spinach, toasted an english muffin, and then heated up 2 Morningstar Veggie Sausage Links. It only took 15 minutes in total and it was very well worth it.

I put some spinach on each half of the english muffin, then topped it with the poached eggs, and then used the creamy avocado sauce liberally. It was soooo good. The avocado mashed really well into the yogurt and made it extra creamy. A little acid from the lime, salt to highlight the flavor, and an extra kick from the mustard, and this was delicious. The eggs were perfectly poached so the yolk ran all over when I cut into them.

That picture is making my mouth water and I seriously want these again! I still have about half of the sauce left so that’s entirely possible… 🙂

Happy Friday!!

11 Responses

  1. I always think those eggs look so delicious… but my tummy just isn’t down with the runny yolk… bummer.

  2. Amazing! Farm fresh eggs are definitely the best!

  3. I love poached eggs, but don’t want to go through all the work, so I half fry/half poach (drop my eggs in a pan, when the bottom starts to set, put water in, lid it, let the steam cook the top – and done).
    Your breakfast looks fantastic….it makes me want to go out for breakfast – but we all know how bad that would be!

  4. i have got to make this beth-this looks so good 🙂

  5. I always get such good recipe ideas from your blog! This seriously looks to die for!

  6. I wish it made my water, I just can’t seem to get eggs to be appealing 😦

  7. Wow, that looks so good! I love eggs too, although I’ve never gotten any from a farmers market. I just found out my local farmers market opens in 2 weeks! I’ve never looked for eggs there, but now I am!

    If you get a chance, I have a great weight loss success story on my blog today, Lindsay has lost 116 pounds and looks amazing!

    • The eggs taste AMAZING from the farmer’s market. With something like this where its doused in sauce, you can tell a bit less than if you just eat it with a little salt and pepper, but its always good to support local farms. I’ll definitely check out Lindsay’s story – thanks for sharing and stopping by!

  8. Oh my that looks soooo good! Must try this out soon. Still afraid to poach an egg lol

    • DON’T BE SCARED. Seriously, vinegar is the secret. Just pour some into the pot of water, crack the egg in a bowl, and drop it in the water. After you do it once you’ll realize just how simple it is!

  9. That avocado sauce = my new best friend! thanks so much for that mini-recipe! I fell in love with an avocado sauce from our favorite Mexican joint, but it was full of a big heap of mayo, which I ain’t so down with. Why did I never think of yogurt?

    thank you thank you thank you!

Leave a Reply

