• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Fighting for Five

Morning and happy weekend! 🙂

I decided last night I needed to go on a run today, because I haven’t run in SO long. I had my 10 mile race on April 11th, so not quite a month ago, and that was the last time I ran outside! Since then, I did intervals for 20 minutes on the treadmill twice, but I haven’t actually run outside, or for more than 20 minutes.

So, I woke up at 8:30 and set out to do 5 miles. It was hard. I got myself through it by saying that I could stop at 4 if I wanted to and just focusing on reaching certain landmarks. I was sweating a lot even though it was cool, and I was fighting mostly my head, but also the wind, to make the full 5 miles. But, I did it, and I’m really happy its done. I cannot let myself go for so long without running anymore! I think I was running so much leading up to the race that I kind of burnt myself out on running. That, buying a new bike, and doing the week unlimited Bikram just together made running get away from me, but we’re reunited now. 🙂

Stats:

Distance: 5.01 miles

Time: 50:07 min:sec

Avg Pace: 9:59min/mi

Calories: 595

After my run, I was famished because I just got up and go. I quickly ate this juicy pear while thinking about what to make for breakfast.

It was perfectly ripe and delicious. There’s nothing quite like a perfectly ripe pear! I bought a few of these at Whole Foods on Tuesday and today was the first day it was ripe enough to eat. It was tough waiting but well worth it.

I decided to make something quick and filling because I have to get on the road, so I did an Egg Scramble with a Toasted Bagel Thin.

The scramble had:

  • 1 egg + 1 egg white
  • red onions, chopped
  • tri colored peppers, frozen
  • two morningstar farms sausage style links, chopped
  • crumbled goat cheese

It was delicious and filling. I haven’t had an egg scramble in ages but they are such an easy and delicious breakfast. Plus, you can use whatever you want which is always a good thing.

I’ve got to get a few things together then am hitting the road for Philly. We’re doing Mother’s Day dinner tonight at my sisters house so it should be fun. My boyfriends not coming though because he has to oversee brunch tomorrow at 2 of the restaurants since its the busiest day of the year. 😦

Anyone have any exciting plans for Mother’s Day tomorrow? Or celebrating early like me?

Be back tonight!

8 Responses

  1. Enjoy your mother’s day dinner. I’m glad you have reunited with running, it will get easier for sure 🙂

  2. hi beth, I have seen you on the WW message boards and wanted you see check out my blog : http://goodoledaze.wordpress.com/
    how do I link my blog to yours?

    I really enjoy reading your blog!

  3. Woooo mileage!! That’s awesome 🙂 Hope you have a great time in Philly!

  4. Way to go on the mileage! And have fun in Philly! I actually have lunch plans with friends tomorrow- none of us mothers… he he

  5. Sounds like you did great on the run! Sometimes it’s so hard to get past the mental part. Using landmarks helps me too! We’re celebrating all weekend. have a safe trip!

  6. what a superb bagel and egg scramble. SO HEALTHY! u eat so incredibly well and SO nutritiously! you should be so proud! hehe. seriously love ur eats as always. xoxo

  7. I so understand what you mean by having to push yourself to “just finish one… more… mile” !! But isn’t running fabulous? It makes ya feel so fantastic afterward, even if stopping seemed like such a good idea 1/2 way through! haha – have a great Sunday!! & those eggs look so delish! wish my hubby would let me eat red onions =\ stinkin’ onion breath!

  8. DONT. STOP. RUNNING.

Leave a Reply

