• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

“Light” Meal

Hiya! Tonight got away from me so I’m going to make this quick! This whole week FLEW by and I’m so happy its the weekend already. We had another office outing to Yogen Fruz today and I went back to my old standby, Green Tea frozen yogurt.

This has dark chocolate shavings and mochi (japanese rice cake) on top. Green tea ice cream has always been one of my favorite flavors, and this frozen yogurt tastes just as good as the real ice cream! It’s so creamy and packed with flavor. If you’ve never tried Mochi, it’s kind of like gummy bear texture but not quite as chewy, and much less flavor. I love them for the texture and its one of my favorite toppings for fro yo. Yum.

I was planning on going to Bikram after work, but I ended up getting caught up doing something until after 5, and by the time I finished it was too late to make it to the 6pm class. I decided to just come home instead, and once I was on the metro my eyes started getting so heavy and it hit me just how tired I was. I crashed immediately when I got home and slept for over an hour. It felt SO good. I rarely ever take naps because I usually wake up more tired than when I started, but today I didn’t really have a choice.. my eyes were closing on me! After I woke up I was really hungry, so I had a quick snack.

A toasted everything bagel thin with goat cheese from the farmers market… SO good! This was the first time this year I’ve tried this goat cheese and it is delicious. The woman who sells it owns around 500 goats (!!!) and raises them and makes the cheese on her farm. It’s so fresh and has such an intense flavor.

After my snack, I went and met my boyfriend at LIA’S for a quick meal after he got off. A vendor had dropped off this bottle of rosé of sangiovese wine for him to sample, so I had 1 and 1/2 glasses of that during our meal.

It was crisp and tasty. I don’t generally go for rosé wines, but the price was right on this one and I really enjoyed it. I wasn’t that hungry since I had the bagel thin, so I decided to go pretty light for my meal. I started with a bowl of minestrone soup which was their soup of the day. It was supposed to come with a proscuitto crostini but I ordered it without because the rest of the soup was vegetarian.

They also served some house-made foccacia bread with olive oil.

I had one piece of the foccacia and it was AWESOME. It had grey sea salt on it and it was really crispy on the outside and soft and warm on the inside. The olive oil is also really flavorful so just a little but goes a long way. It went really well with the minestrone soup, which was full of beans, tomatoes, and a delicious broth. We also got citrus cured salmon crespelle.

Which are basically little house cured salmon tacos. I had one of the three of these, and they have mache on them in addition. The salmon is cured with lemon, orange, lime, citrus vodka, salt, and sugar. Really tasty.

I ordered an appetizer salad for my main course with beets, mache, orange, goat cheese.

The oranges are hiding under the mache on this salad. I looove goat cheese and forgot until just now that I already had some today! Beets, orange, and goat cheese really is a winning combo – the sweetness of the citrus works so well with the other flavors, and I ate the whole thing.

I also had one small piece of my boyfriend’s pizza, which had shrimp, tomato, fontina, bottarga, scallion, garlic butter.

This was amazinggg… by now you probably know just how much I love pizza, and having one piece of someone else’s is the perfect solution in my book. Then, we had to try one of the new desserts (because we wanted to) so we went with the honey and pine nut tart with evoo gelato, spiced tuile cookie, and caramel sauce.

Oh.my.god. This was seriously amazing, and I don’t even love pine nuts that much! It kind of tasted like pecan pie but was a little looser, and the evoo gelato on top was just melt-in-your mouth incredible, and brought the whole dessert together.

Kind of funny because I intended to eat light but looking back it doesn’t look so light now does it. That said, I left feeling really satisfied, not stuffed by any means. But I kind of take back describing the meal as light. Kind of.

Good night!!

4 Responses

  1. I really want to try green tea fro yo! It looks so good, I also want to try the mochi. I know there is a fro yo place near me.. I wonder if they have it!

  2. Rose wines are very trendy lately! I actually like them, for the most part…there are definitely good and bad ones out there, as with any type of wine, but on a warm summer evening I love going pink 🙂

    That pine nut dessert thing looks amazing. I would kill for the recipe for something like that!

  3. I love pinenuts so that tart looks INCREDIBLE!

  4. Oh my gosh ALL of that food looks amazing! I’d eat it all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

