• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

20 Miles!

I am already back in DC and just got back from my longest bikeride ever! It’s been a goooood day.

I ended up falling asleep fast and hard last night and it felt so good. I woke up without an alarm around 8 am and hung out with my sister and her husband for a bit while we drank some coffee. Then they made me delicious breakfast before I got on the road.

2 farm fresh scrambled eggs, 2 slices of tomato, 1/4 an avocado, and 1 piece of whole wheat toast. It was simple, yet delicious. I ended up spreading the avocado on the toast and it was awesome. I love how colorful this plate is! I ended up getting on the road around 10am which was awesome because I made it home in no time. I literally hit no traffic and made it around 12:30 which included a stop for gas. I’m so glad we celebrated last night so I didn’t get caught in Mother’s Day Brunch traffic… that always makes me cranky!

After I got home, I unpacked quickly and then decided to go for a bikeride. It’s a gorgeous, sunny, and cool day here in DC – perfect weather for a ride. I set out not quite sure how far I would go, and I was feeling so good that I decided to do 20 miles! It was my longest ride to date, and besides my butt being pretty sore, I feel great now too. I went on the Mount Vernon Trail towards Alexandria, and I usually get sort of turned around because the trail isn’t marked well during certain parts, but I had an idea of where to go and asked a few riders for directions, and then figured it out. I went 10 miles towards Mount Vernon (which was 4 miles further) and then turned around and came back. Soon I want to do the full ride of 28 miles (14 each way) but I didn’t want to push it since 16 was the furthest I’d gone before today. It is only a little hilly in parts but it was a nice, challenging ride.

Today’s stats:

– Distance: 20.13 miles

– Duration: 1hr35min3sec

– Avg. Pace: 4:43min/mi

– Avg. Speed: 12.7mph

– Calories Burned: 1172

Overall, a great ride! I brought these Gu Chomps with me:

And I ate 5 of them on the ride (115 calories worth). I didn’t like these AT ALL. They are chewy but kind of stick to your teeth and the flavor just tasted gross. I’m pissed at myself because I bought 5 packages of these because they were having a special at a race expo but I’d never tried them before! Maybe the other flavors will be better, but I much prefer the Sports Beans which actually taste like candy.

As soon as I got home, I was craving a smoothie, so I made an interesting combo.

Into the blender went:

  • 1.5 cups light soy milk
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 15 frozen cherries
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder
  • 3 cups baby kale (end of the bag)

Now this smoothie had a lot of potential… minus the kale. When I put spinach into smoothies, I can barely tell its there because it doesn’t really affect the taste or texture. Not so with the kale… It was baby kale so it’s a lot more tender than regular kale, but it didn’t blend up nearly as well as the spinach does so I could taste it and felt “chunks” of it (ew) in the smoothie. I think if I had put spinach in there instead it would have been a winning combo. I didn’t let it go to waste but I don’t think I’ll be using kale in my green smoothies anymore!

I’m off to shower and relax a bit. Hope Sunday is treating you well!

9 Responses

  1. Wow! 20 miles! That’s awesome. Do you mind if I ask what kind of bike you ride?

    • Not at all! I got a used bike a few weeks ago. It’s a Diamondback Hybrid, so cross between a road bike and a mountain bike. It’s technically a mens bike because the bar goes straight across, but its purple so… It was $200 for the bike and then I bought a new seat for $20 at target, so not bad! I love it! 🙂

  2. Nice bike ride! I am not a fan of the gooey fuel candies either. The GU at least doesn’t stick in my teeth! Nice bike ride. 🙂

  3. omg bet that felt great when u finished! wow congrats- that truly is a great ride!!! xoxo

  4. I had the same problem with Kale in my protein shakes as well. I wasn’t sure if it was the actual Kale, or the fact that I too, was at the end of my bag, and it might not have been as fresh as it could have been!
    I quit using it and went back to spinach, which blends much better and doesn’t taste bad:)

  5. Your breakfast looks so yummy! And congrats on the 20 miler!!

  6. How fun! I have been seriously neglecting my bike recently!

  7. That smoothie does look good! I’ll remember to make it without the kale and maybe try spinach instead.

  8. Sounds like an awesome bike ride! and thanks for the tip on the green smoothies – no kale over here, even if it seeems like a good idea, I’ll go ahead and avoid it 🙂 I LOVE how chill spinach tastes in smoothies, no one believes me when I tell ’em how unnoticeable it is. lovely.

Leave a Reply

