• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Simple Pleasures

Sunday night is always kind of depressing, except I did have some great stuff happen with work late last week so tomorrow will be more celebratory than most Monday mornings. That said, I can always use one more day of the weekend… though today has shaped up to be a pretty awesome Sunday.

One of the things that made today so fabulous was I took a nice long bubble bath after my bike ride and smoothie. It felt so nice just to chill out in a warm bath and read for a little while! I love how simple things like that can make your day. I’m going to have to remember to do that more often. 🙂

After my bath I made a quick AB&J Sandwich with a sliced up pear.

It was exactly what I was craving and really hit the spot. Two slices of whole wheat potato bread, 1 tbsp almond butter, and 1 tbsp Crofter’s Asia. Simple, but delicious. I’ve learned my lesson many times to try to not go to the grocery store hungry because then I buy everything in sight. I already love grocery shopping (too much?) so if I go hungry, its just bad news. This sandwich was the perfect thing to help me from going overboard in the store. I got a bunch of produce (strawberries, bananas, raspberries, spinach, watermelon!) and a few other random things, but only spent about $35. My goal is to try to make it through the week without going shopping again, which should be very doable.

Funny that I say that, but then we actually ordered Indian Food for dinner. Neither of us felt like cooking and Indian food is cheap and fast… but no more going out/ordering food after tonight, either.

We got three dishes to share, and it came with basamti rice, naan and veggie samosas. The dishes were Alu Chole (chickpeas and potatoes), Mutter Paneer (peas and homemade cheese), and Bengan Bhurta (mashed eggplant and tomato cooked with Indian spices). I had one vegetable samosa (crisp turnover filled with spiced potatoes and peas) and some of each of the three dishes over basamati rice.

This is only our second time ordering from this indian restaurant, but it is so flavorful, comes really fast, and is always hot upon arrival and tastes fresh. Of these three, the peas and cheese were my favorite because the texture of the cheese was soft but not too soft, and it went great with the peas in the sauce it was in. I loved the chickpeas too, and the eggplant was pretty spicy which was a nice contrast against the other two dishes. Yum. And, the best part? There’s leftovers! 🙂

All the simple pleasures from today… a bubble bath, AB&J, and delivery, added up to an incredible Sunday. Now we’re sitting down watching The Lovely Bones (thank you Netflix!) so I’m going to get back to the movie.

Have a good night!

9 Responses

  1. I love chickpeas! all of the eats look delicious 🙂

  2. paneer!! LOVE LOVE LOVE! i usually throw tofu with mine and love it!!!

    ps. the lovely bones book was fantastic! still needing to watch the movie!! xoxo ❤

  3. Oh what I wouldn’t give for another day in the weekend! But YAY for exciting stuff happening at work-that’s great!

  4. I love Indian food! Have you tried Trader Joe’s frozen version yet? So tasty!

    I read Lovely Bones when it first came out and it was so gut-wrenching I wasn’t sure I wanted to see the movie version…

  5. I hope you like the movie! I still liked the book better… the movie was a little trippy for my liking… but to each their own!

  6. The peas and cheese are super delicious. I can’t remember what they’re called…case of the Monday mornings! I get them in Amy’s meals!

  7. Totally agree with you on the grocery shopping front- I make myself have a little snack before (or I’ll go right after a meal) or else EVERYTHING appeals to me!

  8. OMG H and I were SO craving Indian last night – we drove to three places but they were all closed – we were eatting a late lunch/early dinner around 4. It was so tragic! Making TJ’s curry chicken tonight to make up for it! Your plate looks divine!

Leave a Reply

