• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Quickie Lunch

Whew busy busy Monday! It’s been nice though because its already 2:30pm somehow, but I’ve got to make this quick because I have a lot more to do!

Lunch was really easy to throw together, but super delicious. The main part was an arugula salad with chopped up strawberries and crumbled goat cheese. I had a serving of Seedlander Krackers on the side, and fared much better bringing in just one serving that bringing in the whole box like on Friday. And those are some baby carrots peeking out from the back, which was the end of the bag.

I also had my first watermelon of the season today.

I found this in my grocery store on the iced section, and there were 3 slices for $1.91. It made for two huge bowls of watermelon, so thats a pretty good price! Watermelon is one of my favorite parts about summer and reminds me of being a kid and spitting out the seeds, though this one was seedless.

The last part of my lunch was a Siggi’s Blueberry yogurt.

This was definitely my favorite one so far of the flavors I’ve tried. It was sweet, but not too sweet, and tasted like real blueberries. If you like super sweet yogurt this isn’t for you, but if you like it just slightly sweet, this flavor is delicious. I have one more of them at home too.. woot!

What are some of your favorite things about the weather warming up? For me, I love being able to run/bike outside, and I also love all the fruit that comes in season during the spring/summer (like watermelon!) Also, I love the beach and wearing dresses and flip flops!

16 Responses

  1. Those krackers do look soooo good!

    And I love that we’re beginning grilling season! It’s just the best. Now I just need to befriend someone with a grill…. 😉

    • ohhh Grilling should definitely be on my list! My apartment complex is huge (550 units) and there are a few community grills that everyone can use. I haven’t yet taken advantage of them but need to get on that!

  2. Hi Beth! My favorite parts of the warmer weather are, in no particular order:
    Grilling
    Beach
    Swimming (we belong to a swim club)
    Gardening
    Going to Wildwood and walking the boards.

    I just tried the Chobani pineapple yogurt and I think that might be my fave so far!

    • Hi Barb! I actually do a bike ride down the boardwalk at Wildwood every Father’s Day! I love it. And pineapple chobani really is the best!! That or the honey…

      • I’ve got the honey at home. Haven’t tried it yet.

        We go down every Father’s Day weekend too! I’m hoping there is no rain this year. Last year, it rained all day Saturday!

  3. i recently had my first watermelon of the season and boy was i happy! thats one of my fav things about summer approaching.. the season and fresh fruits that arrive to the market! yay!

  4. I love grilling and beach days!! It’s always a blast to have friends over for grilling and dinner on our back deck. Love it!

  5. I love running outside, talking walks, cookouts, traveling, flowers, berries, ummm basically everything about warm weather! Except bees! 🙂

    That salad looks yummy! I wish I could get Siggi’s yogurt locally. They have a ginger flavor I love!

  6. My weather hasn’t warmed up! It has become rainy and cold! On the plus side, I look forward to swimming–lots and lots of swimming–and hanging out in the warm summer evening with goods friends.

  7. What a lovely lunch!

    Sadly for me, Australia is approaching Winter. Let’s just say I am not happy about that fact at all 😉

  8. Biking and gardening are my favorite things about warm weather! Not to mention the frozen yogurt 😀

  9. I love being outside in shorts and tank tops! That’s my uniform all summer!

  10. Can I just say that salad looks absolutely fabulous? Actually, that whole darn plate looks delish. Share?

  11. Dresses, flip flops, summer corn, the sun being out until 8, running/walking/BEING outside and comfortable…oh and cannot forget the FARMERS MARKET!

    I have seen quite a lot of people recently adding strawberries to their salads. I bet its very refreshing. I should try that out.

    Question, what is the sugar content for Siggi’s yogurt?

    Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

