• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Amberjack

Hi! My boyfriend had a surprise night off, so I got to have a gourmet meal at home for dinner! I’m going to make this pretty quick so we can watch a movie and relax and enjoy the night together. πŸ™‚

I had my last juicy pear for “dessert” after lunch

And my afternoon snack was a Siggi’s Pomegranate & Passionfruit with a crushed Weetabix biscuit and some mandarins.

I like this flavor a lot too – – I think I was expecting it to be a bit sweeter the first time I tried it, but since I knew what I was going into this time, I really appreciated the light sweetness and flavor of the yogurt. Crushed weetabix biscuits are one of my favorite toppings because they add such a nice crunch but are really low cal (much lower than granola!). My sister commented how much I eat mandarins (thanks Wendy ;)) but I bought a big bag of them at Trader Joe’s and its taking me a long time to get through the bag. I only have 3 left though, so bear with me! πŸ™‚

Once I got home, I was thinking about working out but it is wet and cold out and what I really wanted to go for a run or a bike ride, and then while I was trying to figure out what to do, if anything, my boyfriend came home really early so I decided to just chill out with him since its rare that we get a week night together. He had brought home some Amberjack, which is a fish from North Carolina that I’d never even heard of. It’s a mildly sweet white fish with a firm flake, sort of similar to grouper in texture.

We munched on some edamame while cooking (slash mostly watching for me).

And then this was my plate:

Seared amberjack, served over a bed of quinoa with sweet corn and spinach, with a sour cherry sauce. It is times like this where I especially appreciate having a chef for a boyfriend… And yes, it was as delicious as it looks/sounds. πŸ™‚ Night!

11 Responses

  1. I’m gonna have to check out those weetabix biscuits because I love granola in my yogurt!

  2. Oh amberjack!!!! I LOVE that fish!!! I don’t think I’ve had it since I’ve been to Florida a few years ago… I’m pretty sure I ordered it every time we went out to eat!

  3. men who cook are sexy! lucky u snatched one up hehe! YUMMY DINNER! ❀

  4. I’ve never tried Amberjack. I’ll have to try it. Looks delish!!

  5. That looks divine! Meanwhile, my fiance requested a bowl of lucky charms last night for dinner – which I bought on the condition that he measure the servings. He had 3 servings for dinner! HA!

  6. I just discovered your blog and I must say I love the way you dismantled that pear! I can’t seem to slice a pear properly to save my life, would you mind sharing how to do so? πŸ™‚

    • Sure! I just slice it down around the core, in 4 straight cuts. Then you have 4 chunks of pear, and I just cut those into slices. It’s much easier to work with if you slice it away from the core first since they all have a flat side. I hope that helps!

  7. My jaw dropped! Looks like you had an amazing meal, I just wish the BF would cook. πŸ˜‰

    So glad you had a lovely evening!

  8. Lucky girl! Having a partner who cooks is a find!

  9. Is there anyway we can get that amberjack recipe?! it looks fantastic and is making my mouth water..

  10. Aw your fish dinner looks like a fancy restaurant entree! *eating with eyes*

Leave a Reply

