• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Chiacakes

Morning and happy Tuesday! It’s gotten really chilly in DC and I am not loving it. Today is in the 50’s and is supposed to rain this afternoon/evening. Not ideal. I was planning on going for a ride or a run tonight, but I’ll have to play it by ear. I haven’t visited my gym in a long time, so maybe tonight is the night..

I slept like a rock last night – – asleep before 11 and until 7:45am, so almost 9 hours! I woke up and had one thing on my mind – – pancakes! As you’ve seen if you’ve been reading my blog for a bit, I have been experimenting with chia seeds a lot in the last week or so. Today, I added them to my pancakes and they made a huge difference in the texture, in a great way. The chia seeds soaked up a lot of liquid, so the batter was thick and fluffy, and the seeds themselves left an ever-so-slight crunch in the pancakes. I also went on the “sundae” breakfast theme from yesterday with the toppings, so this breakfast was amazing and almost made up for the weather. πŸ™‚

For 3 small pancakes:

  • 3 tbsp pancake mix (I use this kind which is awesome)
  • 2 tbsp rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder
  • 2 tbsp egg whites
  • 3 tbsp light soy milk

I mixed all those ingredients together and let it sit for 5 minutes while I put my lunch together. Then, I made it into 3 small pancakes instead of 2 bigger ones like I usually do (That had nothing to do with the fact that my bigger pan was dirty…) and I really like doing the 3 smaller ones. They cook faster and I just love having 3 pancakes instead of 2.

For toppings, I used:

  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 4 strawberries, chopped
  • 1 tbsp light hersheys syrup

These tasted just as delicious as they look! As I mentioned above, the texture the pancakes take on from adding the chia seeds is awesome. They get fluffier and a little chewy (in a good way) and take the toppings VERY well. You will definitely be seeing these again.. yum!

I found some interesting stats I thought I would share while reading the Washington Running Report (which you should sign up for if you’re in the DC region and a runner because its free and has a lot of race info and other interesting stuff).

Typical US Female Runner Demographics:

  • Average Age: 38.6
  • 61.9% Married
  • 78.7% College Educated

Primary Motivation to Start Running:

  • For Exercise: 25.3%
  • Weight Concerns: 13.8%

Primary Motivation to Continue to Run:

  • Staying in Shape: 75.5%
  • Staying Healthy: 74.8%
  • Relieving Stress: 62.4%

Interesting stuff! Be back later!

16 Responses

  1. You just made me oh, so hungry. I’m gonna eat my breakfast now. Yum.

  2. My motivation to keep running is to relieve stress, but also to stay healthy!

    That’s really interesting that the majority of runners are college educated! And I’m surprised at the average age – I would’ve thought it’d be lower.

  3. those stats are interesting! the age surprised me and so did the primary reason to start running. only 13% were for weight reasons. that just seems so low! maybe because running seems so damn mentally hard…its not as easy to jump right into it when you want to start losing weight. who knows! anyways thanks for the stats. πŸ™‚

    don’t you love chia seeds!? gaah. i bought them to add to my oatmeal but have since used them in pancakes, green monsters, yogurt bowls, and brownies!

  4. hellooooo chocolate syrup! Why have I forgotten about you, old friend?

    That is an awesome add to pancakes. Clearly I have a chocolate addiction…

    • I know. It felt really indulgent but 1 tbsp of the syrup goes along way and only has 22.5 calories (45 cals in 2 tbsp). ❀ Chocolate anything!!

  5. Those stats are awesome. It sounds about right to me too!

    Every time I go to New Seasons I pick up a bag of Chia Seeds but I never buy them. I think the high calories deter me. Especially since I’m a little foggy on what the health benefit of Chia is…

  6. oh yea running is so great for stress!!

    love the chia cakes!!! seriously how great and fluffy do they look. guess the chia would help with that huh. since they do make kind of a gel with water.

    have a great day!

  7. love your breakfast beth! how yummy it looks πŸ™‚ i run to keep stress and illness at bay!

  8. Seriously. What is up with the weather? It feel like early Fall and not almost summer.

  9. Your breakfast looks delicious!! Makes my sad little bowl of cereal look…pretty sad.

    Hope you have a great Tuesday!

  10. Good morning! πŸ™‚ Those look aaamazing! It’s pretty chilly here today as well–after such a beautiful weekend…bummer!

  11. Hey! I have not seen the lite Hershey’s syrup. Do you really like it? Boy do those pancakes look great! Also, very nice mexican dinner bowl the other night, looks healthy and delish!

    • I do like it – – the pancakes were delicious! It’s just where the other hershey’s syrup is in the store, and its only 45 calories for 2 tbsp and no fat, so its nice when you need a little chocolate in your life!

  12. […] they absorb liquid and add an awesome texture if put them into oatmeal, a smoothie, or pancakes (chiacakes as I call them!) I get mine from amazon because they are cheap! 7.50 a pound at that […]

Leave a Reply

