• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Easy Creamy Tomato Soup

Hey! How has your Wednesday been? Mine has actually been really good! The weather held up for most of the day, so I got to run the errands I put off yesterday and now have another pair of work pants that fit! Woohoo. I had an awesome snack in the afternoon around 4:30.

A plain Chobani with a packet of Truvia, a crushed Weetabix biscuit, and 1 tbsp coconut flakes. Delicious. As soon as 5pm rolled around, it started sprinkling outside, but it was still pretty warm, so I came home and decided to go for a run. It actually felt GREAT. There were parts of the run that were tough (miles 1-2, and 4.5-5.5) but overall it was much better than Saturday, and the light rain actually kept me cool. I also remember my ipod shuffle this time, which was a lifesaver. 🙂

Stats:

Distance: 6.00 miles

Duration: 58:35

Avg Pace: 9:46 min/mile

Avg Speed: 6.1 mph

Calories Burned: 701

I’m glad to be back to running where it actually feels good! 🙂

After my run, I made an easy, delicious Creamy Tomato Soup that you have to try! This recipe is courtesy of my sister Wendy, with a few tweaks by me. This is all you need for the soup:

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp oil of choice (I used olive)
  • 1/2 white onion, chopped
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (I used organic fire roasted)
  • 1 container plain Chobani (You can substitute half and half)

Directions:

  1. Heat 2 tsp oil in a pot over medium heat
  2. Add chopped onion and cook for 5 minutes until onion is soft, not browned
  3. Add can of tomatoes, juice and all, and stir in with onion
  4. Continue to cook for 5 minutes
  5. Mix with a hand blender, or a regular blender (but be careful not to close the lid fully since the soup will be hot!) to desired consistency. I left mine a little chunky because I like the soup that way.
  6. Mix in Chobani or desired amount of 1/2 and 1/2 and keep over the flame until heated through
  7. Garnish soup however you like. I used shredded cheddar.

This recipe makes 2 good sized bowls of soup (with 2 WW points each if you use the same ingredients I did) and is creamy, chunky, and delicious!

I had the soup with a toasted everything bagel thin with an over easy egg and more cheddar.

Such an easy and delicious dinner! I looove cream of tomato soup and this version is delicious and healthy too!

Dessert was 1/2 a mango, chopped up.

Off to catch up on the Biggest Loser and take it easy! Goodnight!

15 Responses

  1. ur doing so good with ur running, im quite impressed! keep it up! oh haha btw just got sone watching the last episodes of biggest loser i missed. love that show! and how great is it that the cheddar is seeping through the bagel hole. love it hehe

  2. Sweet time with your 6 miles! & that soup looks so yummy, and super simple, I may just give it a try 😀

  3. Oh my. I’ve got to try that soup! Your dinner looks delicious.

    Great job running! You’re speedy!

  4. Nice job on your run!! Don’t you just love runs like that 🙂

    Your sister’s tomato soup is very clever! I never would have thought of putting yogurt in it! That sounds delicious 🙂

  5. Soup looks delish! I’m eating a mango for breakfast as I’m reading this! Great job with the running.

  6. Good idea with the weetabix in yogurt! Your dinner looks great.

  7. oh i have not had wheatabix in like 30 years! looks good in the yogurt 🙂

  8. That soup is SFT friendly, isn’t it? Def wanna try it, it looks delicious!

  9. That soup looks delish – how big is the container of Chobani you used? Is it the size you see with the “flavored” ones. Or the “big” container?

    Awesome run by the way – I’m dying to increase my speed so I’m under an 11 min mile! (I currently average 12). My first speed work workout is tonight!

    • That was just a regular 6 oz chobani. My speed varies but usually around 10 minute miles or a little under. Trying to work back up my endurance after taking almost a month off unintentionally!

  10. Nom nom. I love mango. I love mango *so* much. In fact, there’s a mango breakfast awaiting me as soon as I leave my compie. But first, it’s compie time!

  11. Looks delicious! I love tomato soup.

  12. Greek yogurt with soup is one of my favorite things. I usually just dollop it on top of tomato or butternut squash soup and it gets all hot and melty 🙂

Leave a Reply

