• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Old Standby

Hey and happy hump day! We’re officially over halfway through the week, woohoo! Also the weather in DC is holding up really well, so keep you fingers (and toes!) crossed that the thunderstorms don’t come so I can do a run or a bike ride tonight! 🙂

My OIAJ from this morning kept me full until 2pm!! I think it was the combination of 2 tbsp chia seeds and the peanut butter in the jar… whatever it is, I liked it. I wasn’t even starving by the time 2pm rolled around, it was just time to eat! I am loving these chia seeds, and loving making “overnight” oats with milk and vanilla extract instead of yogurt and milk. All good things!

Lunch today was my old standby, a sweet potato with black beans. Whenever I’m in a rush to pack lunch and/or haven’t cooked dinner the night before, I love to have a microwaved baked potato with black beans with a salad on the side. It’s so easy, filling, and delicious! To “bake” the sweet potato, I wash it really well, then poke some holes it in with a fork, and then cover it with a damp paper towel. I throw it in the microwave and hit the “Baked Potato” setting, which is my scary strong microwave at work is only 3 minutes, but will be more like 5-6 in normal microwaves.

On top, I put 1/2 cup of canned black beans. I used to rinse my beans thoroughly, but lately I’ve stopped rinsing them and just pour them over the sweet potato as is. The extra wetness from the bean juice (nasty!) actually gives it a good flavor and helps the beans stick more to the potato.

On the side, I had a spinach salad with strawberries and goat cheese.

Which made for a very colorful and satisfying lunch!

I also had a few extra strawberries on the side that wouldn’t fit on my salad.

Yum! I still have another container of strawberries at home because they were buy one get one free, so I’m trying to think of a fun way to use them up other than just eating them plain/chopped on salads. Any ideas?

What are some of your standbys when you don’t have leftovers?

Also, don’t forget to enter my KIND Bar Giveaway if you haven’t already!

11 Responses

  1. Wow what a great salad!!! looks so mouth watering!!! and yes, I love love love sweet potato with beans!!!! Caitlin’s great idea! well, I have started my blog yesterday and came across your blog and what can I say?! I like it!!! 🙂 so many good eats and a lot of inspiration!!

  2. My standbys include canned tuna, one or two Lean Cuisines (that I’ve had forever and a day by now…), and pb sandwiches. If I’m running low on groceries or bored with the current situation in the refrigerator, those are what I go for without fail!

  3. My standby is always pb and banana sandwiches! Another version I like is pb and STRAWBERRY! Maybe you could use some of your strawberries in that fashion.

    I also love putting strawberries in my yogurt, smoothies or on top of oatmeal or cereal. Worse comes to worse, you can freeze your leftover strawberries and use those in smoothies as your ice!

  4. My standbys are mostly frozen meals as well as Trader Joes Mac and Cheese packs. I have never tried microwaving a sweet potato, but I microwave pretty much everything for convenience so I probably would like it haha.

  5. My standbys are usually frozen meals or Morningstar products on a bagel thin.

    I had an awesome salad today (which I bought). It was an arugula salad with poached pear, strawberries, melon and goat cheese. I am not sure exactly the dressing was but it was made out of strawberries and tasted kind of like a smoothie with a little hint of spice. It was freaking delicious!

  6. i cant get over how healthy that looks! im such a fan of mixing so many bright colors together. and what a balanced meal too, protein and carbs. im really in love with this one 🙂

  7. This is my favorite go to meal! I do love to top my potato with a little Greek yogurt and some salsa too!

  8. those strawberries are HUGE!
    why does it seem that strawberries are the only ones that get jumbo-sized. I’ve never seen over-grown blueberries or cherries.

  9. That’s one of my favorite combinations too! I’m a big fan of egg white omelets and tossing random items in them

  10. The other day I told my hubby “girls on blogs eat sweet potatoes with beans inside ’em!” haha and look! I so want to try it, it seems like it’d be such a satisfying, filling meal. And your salad (Mexico colors!) looks so fantastic!

  11. Soup is my standby food. I always have a can of some kind of soup and it’s fast and easy.

Leave a Reply

